Skip to content

What is Your Life’s Message?

May 15, 2017

Have you ever thought about what you want your life’s message to be? What statements you want to make with your life?

Somewhere along the way, many years ago, I thought about the things I wanted my life to convey. Not that I would always do it perfectly, because obviously I don’t. I’m naturally very shy, especially around people I don’t know, so I often don’t talk a lot (my family would disagree) unless I’m comfortable with the situation. (You’ll never see me speaking up in a crowd or doing public speaking unless I’m forced to do it, or it’s so sudden that I don’t have the chance to think about being nervous. I often have lots I’d love to share, especially in church, but nerves keep me from ever doing so – not something I’m proud of, but it’s just the way it is.) But, even if you don’t publicly go around stating your convictions and beliefs, you can live them.

Here are the messages that I’ve striven to live:

1. You can be a Christian and live a godly life and have fun.

This one is so important to me. I don’t understand how Christians can think that the world offers more fun. Maybe I’ve just seen the end result too much from growing up around the ministry. Maybe it’s the counseling degree. Maybe it’s just the fact that my brain likes to follow things out to their logical conclusion to see where they will lead, and looking down the road it’s easy to see where sin leads. Or maybe it’s just believing what the Bible says. But regardless, I believe 100% that living God’s way is the best way, and it’s definitely not boring. Because of these beliefs, I’ve always felt strongly about living a fun life and enjoying all the great things that God has given for our enjoyment. I’ll take climbing an active volcano that God created over getting drunk in a bar, any day!

2. You can be single and have a fulfilling life.

It bothers me when girls are unhappy being single and are desperate to get married. Marriage is not some sort of cure for unhappiness. If you aren’t able to find your happiness in Christ and who you are in Him, then marriage is not going to help you.

Knowing Christ, serving Him, and glorifying Him with our lives should be our goal. Not just getting married. Maybe it’s just because I’ve never been one of those “I have to get married and let me Pinterest every wedding idea out there” kind of girls so it’s easy for me to feel this way, but it’s quite possible and even most likely easier to live a very full and fulfilling life as a single person. You are free to serve the Lord wherever He leads! (Married people are, too, but often they are too distracted with material things and family to be open to leaving their comfort to serve the Lord.) You can travel and explore the world and have adventures and meet people all around the globe, things that often married people will never do, certainly not to the same extent anyway.

I want people to see my life and be encouraged that they don’t have to settle for any old guy that comes along, or even ever settle, to be happy. They don’t have to be miserable while single and they don’t have to be desperate to be married. There are other good options! (It is ALWAYS better to be single and happy than married and miserable; don’t settle!)

3. You can (and should) dress modestly and not look frumpy.

I’ve always felt strongly about dressing modestly while not looking dumpy or frumpy. You can be stylish without showing off your body. I could get on a soapbox about this but I won’t. Just dress modestly. You can do it if you really want to. No excuses.

4. Living by faith is exciting and God CAN provide all your needs.

God created the entire world. That alone should be enough to give you confidence in Him. He can do anything. But sometimes He wants to grow our faith. I promise you, living by faith can sometimes be scary but it’s so exciting! He will never let you down.

Those are the four ideas I’ve tried to live. I’m no expert model but I do try to live by those four thoughts. And I’m always encouraged when girls tell me I’ve inspired them to do missions or to travel or to be content being single! Or when ladies thank me for dressing modestly and being a good example for their daughters. We CAN live differently from the world and still enjoy life! Living life as a Christian is so fulfilling and rewarding!

What inspires your life and what codes of conduct do you live by?

One Comment leave one →
  1. July 12, 2017 7:23 pm

    I somehow missed this post. šŸ™‚ I loved it.

Leave a Reply

