Skip to content

Oh Hey, an Update!

September 23, 2016

Guys, I’m still alive! I know I haven’t written in forever, and I’ve had more than a few people mention it, so I’m taking the time to sit here and type up a few words for you all. (Actually I’m really just procrastinating from what I should be doing and that is writing a post for ExpatPost – which is another reason I haven’t posted here lately, I’ve been writing some for them.)

My absence from this blog has been due to sketchy internet, a busy schedule, and just pure apathy. Ha. It’s certainly not for lack of material to write as life here is as crazy as ever. Sometimes I think I should have started a log of all the things I have googled here. Just yesterday I googled “can you hear termites eating wood?” Because I know termites live in my room (every now and then a pile of tiny round balls of wood (??) will appear on the floor, and sometimes I hear an odd scratching sound coming from the floor. But apparently you can’t hear termites eating. So I’m really not sure what else lives in my room with me. I’m not too worried about the termites because I won’t be here long enough to witness the entire house collapse. But if I planned to live here long term, I’d be worried. They are eating a lot of the floorboards of my second story room, ha.

Last week I got back from spending a fabulous week in the tiny Kingdom of Tonga, my 48th country, what?

img_7543

Look at that huge sun!

For the girl who as a kid said she was never going to get married (so far that’s true) and would just live at home forever, I’ve sure covered a lot of ground these past 11 years. Something that in my wildest dreams I never imagined I would get to do. Life is such a crazy adventure! Who knows what the future holds, I have no clue where I will be after January of next year, but I am so thankful that I know WHO holds the future, and I already know He has something fabulous in store!

img_7583

Sunset on the tiny island of Pangaimotu, Kingdom of Tonga

I have hundreds of cool pictures from my week in Tonga, and I wish I could post them all here. What a beautiful little country!

Anyway, I’m just still plugging along over here in Fiji and counting the days until I get to hug all my family members again, especially those nephews and niece, and get to see all my Lighthouse people again. I miss my church like crazy! About 8 more weeks until I get to fly home. Just in time for Thanksgiving, that’s how lucky I am. =) Can. Not. Wait!

 

4 Comments leave one →
  1. September 24, 2016 6:10 pm

    Yay! A post! I finally have posted on my blog too. It’s been almost a year for me. lol

    I really need to email you. And since this comment is having less and less to do with above post, I think it’s time to stop. haha

  2. Barrie Greenfield permalink
    September 25, 2016 3:57 pm

    thanks for updating your blog! tho’ I did know you were alive. 😉
    I don’t know anything about termites, but there’s a type of wood beetle here that you can hear when its inside wood eating. Yum!

Leave a Reply

