Skip to content

My week in Alaska

February 21, 2016

Heading to Alaska last week was pretty spur of the moment but I had frequent flier miles, nothing to do, and a perfect opportunity to go, so why not? It was such a great decision and I am so glad that it worked out. (Thank you, Barrie, for the great suggestion and for hosting me!)

_MG_3105-001

We stopped on the side of the road one day so I could play in the snow ;). Or at least take pictures in it.

It was a nice relaxing week (despite staying up till 4/5 most mornings, ha) and I am so glad I didn’t try to plan to do much while there. We pretty much either hung out at the cabin my friend was housesitting or else went to my friend’s house to eat and play games. It was fun getting to know her family and friends and learning more about Alaskan life.

IMG_2933

Santa is a lot bigger than I imagined him to be.

IMG_2935

At an ice castle/ice fort (or something?) in North Pole.

IMG_2969

Chillin’ (literally)  in Santa’s ice sleigh

IMG_2978

Look at the detail on this pretty snowflake

IMG_3005

Just call me Santa Claus

IMG_3022

Look how pretty it is. I miss living in snow!

IMG_3026

IMG_3028

 

And in between it all there were amazing light shows in the sky each night. God was so generous to put on such great displays for us to see.

I’m so thankful for that week. It was great to just hang out with a friend and talk, laugh, watch movies, and dream about all the places we want to go and all the things we want to do. I love having friends who want to do the same things I do and who are passionate about spreading the Gospel around the world! I feel so refreshed and ready to go to Fiji now. It’s funny but I was feeling hesitant about going to Fiji. It just didn’t seem like the time was right and I wasn’t sure why. I don’t know what changed but now I feel mentally and emotionally ready to be there and I’m so excited! I can’t wait to see what the rest of this year holds.

IMG_20160218_085237

One last selfie (all our others were with the northern lights) before saying goodbye at the airport. Who knows where in the world we will meet up again, but I am sure it will be someplace fun and I’m still holding out for that Icelandic roadtrip. =)

IMG_20160218_113628

Lots of pretty snow covered mountains on the way from Fairbanks to Anchorage

IMG_20160218_113652

IMG_20160218_113837

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

