Skip to content

A to Z Travel Meme

February 20, 2016
tags:
  • The A to Z Travel Meme was created by Julie Fox.  You can find the original post here.

If you decide to answer these A to Z of Travel questions, all you need to do is:

  • copy the questions into a new post, either on your own blog or on this one
  • write up your answers
  • maybe add a few photos to pretty things up
  • include a link back to this post so others can find all the information
  • tag a fellow travellers (or two, or three) to do the A to Z of Travel
  • paste a link to your A to Z of Travel in the comments of this post
  • post an excerpt so we can share your A to Z

A: Age you started travelling?

I was ten years old when I took my first flight (to Arizona) but didn’t leave the US until I was 21 (crazy, right?). When I finished college I went to Fiji on a missions trip. 3 days after I got back I drove halfway across the country to start grad school. I didn’t leave the country again until I was 23 and went to  Scotland to celebrate getting my Master’s degree. That trip to the UK is when I *really* fell in love with traveling and it’s when I *really* started traveling.

B: Best beer you’ve had and where?

Well, I don’t drink so…none. I’m actually  very anti-alcohol as it has destroyed many a family, relationship, life, etc. I can’t think of any benefits to society resulting from alcohol consumption. I won’t jump on that soapbox. 😉 But I CAN tell you about all the yummy watermelon juice I drank all over Asia. 😉

C: Cuisine (favourite)

Mexican and then Mediterranean….mmmm!

D: Destinations, favorite, least favorite and why

I have a hard time choosing favorites, I love almost everywhere I’ve been. Favorite countries are Australia and New Zealand for the stunning scenery, friendly people, laid-back atmosphere and abundance of wildlife.

IMG_6822

Favorite cities are Moscow, London and Hong Kong.

Least favorite destination:

Egypt because it was SO dirty and as a woman I felt a bit uncomfortable.

 

E: Event you experienced abroad that made you say “wow”

Seeing the northern lights for the first time in Alaska. AMAZING. Most incredible thing I’ve ever seen.

IMG_3442

Runners up: Experiencing Carnival in Split, Croatia. Blackwater rafting in New Zealand.

F: Favourite mode of transportation

Trains or planes. I love train travel but have had some near misses with almost not disembarking quickly enough at stations, so I have to pay a bit more attention to where I am when on trains than when I am on planes. On planes there is no fear of accidentally missing your stop. 😉

G: Greatest feeling while travelling

That surreal feeling when you realize *I am really here* doing ______. Just soaking up the local culture, atmosphere and scenery. And especially the feeling of “my incredible God created all of this beauty and someday I will get to see Him face to face and spend eternity with Him.” You can’t surround yourself with natural beauty and not be in awe of God!

H: Hottest place

Hmmm…probably Siem Reap, Cambodia. Unbelievably hot and humid.

_MG_5681

I: Incredible service you’ve experienced and where

Probably the best service I’ve ever experienced was on a 5 star Celebrity ship on a southern Caribbean cruise from San Juan, Puerto Rico. I was blown away by the level of service and the quality of the food.
J: Journey that took the longest

Hmmm, probably the trip from LA to Thiruvarambu , India. We had a 5ish hour flight to New York. Then a layover. Then a 15 hour flight to Mumbai that stretched into 18 hours because we sat on the plane for THREE hours while they tried to fix the entertainment system. We finally left 3 hours late with no entertainment. We landed in Mumbai and spent the night at a (very) shady “motel” (accommodations worse than ANY hostel I’ve ever stayed in!) In the morning we went back to the airport to fly down to Trivandrum. From there we had a 2 (?) hour bus ride to Thiruvarambu. Considering our late arrival in Mumbai and our early wakeup call (thank you nearby mosque for your 5 am call to prayer!) plus all the travel, we were just a *little* bit exhausted when we finally arrived at our destination.

K: Keepsake from your travels

My favorite travel “souvenirs” are photographs because they remind me of all the wonderful experiences I’ve had.

My bday in Chiangmai elephant ride and tiger etc

L: Let-down sight, why and where

Possibly the Leaning Tower of Pisa. It just seemed so touristy and it was a much smaller area (the whole compound) than I expected.

M: Moment where you fell in love with travel

The moment I arrived in London for the first time and heard British accents and saw our smartly-dressed tour assistant in her red suit, red heels and red lipstick. It just seemed so British and I was ecstatic that I was finally in London.

N: Nicest hotel you’ve stayed in

Definitely the Radisson Blu in Cairo, Egypt. I don’t usually stay in fancy hotels because I prefer stretching my travel dollars as much as I can. But Cairo was part of a prepaid tour where I didn’t choose my own hotels. It was fun. =)

O: Obsession—what are you obsessed with taking pictures of while travelling?

Everything. Literally. I do especially love documenting the bad English I see printed everywhere overseas.IMG_7825

 

P: Passport stamps, how many and from where?

Not sure. I’ve been to 46 countries but not every country has stamped, and I’ve been to several countries multiple times, so no clue. I do have one completely full passport though. Working on filling my second one. =)

IMG_1856

Q: Quirkiest attraction you’ve visited and where

Maybe the pet cemetery in Western Australia? It’s become a tourist attraction haha.

IMG_6155

 

 

R: Recommended sight, event or experience

Blackwater rafting in New Zealand is not to be missed! (Floating silently in a cave while looking up at bright blue glowworms overhead? Yes please!) If you don’t want the intense physical activity of the actual blackwater rafting (the water was low when we were there, we did a lot of climbing over rocks at certain points) you can take a boat ride in another glowworm cave and skip the tiring part.

S: Splurge; something you have no problem forking over money for while travelling

Hmmm…I guess on “once-in-a-lifetime” events. If there’s something I think I will never have the chance to do again, I will spend the money even if it’s expensive. But I don’t usually splurge on things anymore. Just travel itself is the splurge. =)

T: Touristy thing you’ve done

Well…I kissed the Blarney Stone in Ireland. Guess that’s definitely a tourist thing to do!

 

U: Unforgettable travel memory

Too many to name! Seeing the northern lights is like number one now. Walking through the Siq in Petra and then seeing the Treasury for the first time. Sunset on Santorini. Living in Russia. Living in Australia. I have thousands of unforgettable travel memories!

V: Visas, how many and for where?

Visa to live in Russia, visa to live in Australia. Visa to visit India, Vietnam, Egypt…can’t remember if I have any others.

W: Wine, best glass of wine while travelling and where?

Again, I don’t drink and I think it’s wise to be very sober while overseas – stay safe and remember everything you do!

X: eXcellent view and from where?

Swiss Alps – Mt. Stanserhorn. Oia, Santorini. Lookout over Trunk Bay, St. John USVI. And many, many more.

 

Y: Years spent travelling?

Outside the US – 10.

Z: Zealous sports fans and where?

Haven’t attended very many sporting events overseas, sadly.

 

I tag Barrie to do an A to Z Travel Meme. =)

One Comment leave one →
  1. Daniel Nguyen permalink
    February 21, 2016 9:47 am

    Love what you are doing. It’s inspire me a lot. Thank you. Should I left anthing behind and start a journey?

Leave a Reply

