Skip to content

Wanting to stay and wanting to go

February 6, 2016

If you’ve lived overseas and then come home for an extended period of time you can probably relate to what I am feeling right now. That torn, restless feeling of wanting to be able to be with family and not miss out on anything but at the same time also wanting to be overseas where life is fun and exciting and random and funny and never boring. Part of me can’t wait to be overseas again (for a lot of reasons) and part of  me knows that when I am there I will be missing family again and wishing I could just pop in every now and then for family dinner night.

IMG_2400

IMG_2632

I’m going to miss this kid SO MUCH! =(

So because I’ve been restless and wishing I could just jump on a plane and head overseas (seeing all these ridiculously cheap deals from LA doesn’t help, either), I’ve been scrolling through pictures from the last year and taking long extended strolls down memory lane. =)

Some random pics from random places over this past year. There are so many fun and interesting things to see and do and experience when you are in a new location.

_MG_2512

Seeing fairy penguins waddling around out in the wild is so cool!

IMG_2683

Watching surfers at the famous Bells Beach in Victoria

IMG_3319

Eating THE best fish and chips I’ve ever had anywhere

IMG_3321

Getting to use train stations with awesome names like Batman station

IMG_7567

Cultural performances like Eisa dancing in Okinawa

IMG_7577

Trying local foods and laughing at funny signs and bad English

IMG_8000

Walking on powder-soft beaches and swimming in crystal clear water

 

IMG_6822

Hiking/walking/climbing to gorgeous views

I’m so thankful for all the wonderful memories from these past 3 amazing years. I can’t wait to see everything that 2016 holds. It hasn’t started out exactly like I’d planned, but I am thankful that God is in control and for the assurance that everything He does is good.

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

