Skip to content

So I’m not in Fiji yet…

January 27, 2016

EVERYone has been asking me lately when I am leaving for Fiji. Understandably, of course, since I actually planned to be there already. Truth is that I don’t even know the answer to that question anymore. [Well, I guess I never did know the answer to that question but I thought I did.]

So now I find myself without a job, or a car, just hanging out waiting on word from Fiji to let me know I can book a ticket.

In the meantime, though….I booked a flight (thank you frequent flier miles!) to Fairbanks, Alaska to see a friend and *hopefully* see the Northern Lights. (I read that if you spend 3 nights in Fairbanks you have an 80% chance of seeing them. I have about 8 nights there, I think, so hopefully that pushes my chances over the top *grin*.)

Anyway…so that gives me something fun to look forward to. I haven’t been in cold temps in quite a while (not since Russia anyway) so I’m looking forward to digging out all my winter stuff and unpacking my suitcase of all its tropical weather ready-for-Fiji contents and repacking it with boots and scarves and gloves and popcorn and candy for a week of girls slumber party/Northern Lights chasing adventures! Seriously…I was always a huge fan of girls nights when I was in high school and slumber parties were one of my favorite things, so I get really excited about stuff like this. Keeps me feeling young. 😉

15 more days! And maybe when I get back then I will be booking my Fiji trip and heading off to the tropics. I seem to always do this cold place/hot place thing in rapid succession so it wouldn’t surprise me in the least if it worked out for me to be flying to Fiji days after getting back from Alaska.  And then I keep switching hemispheres…Northern Hemisphere-Southern Hemisphere-Northern Hemisphere-Southern Hemisphere…my brain can’t keep up with the seasons anymore. (Seriously). But I can’t say life is boring.

 

**Eeek! So excited to finally, *hopefully*, get to see the Northern Lights. It’s been a dream of mine for years and I certainly didn’t expect to get a chance to try and see them this year. But God always surprises me with things like this, and I’m so thankful for how He works things out.**

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Barrie G. permalink
    February 2, 2016 4:11 pm

    YAY!! super duper excited!! Week long slumber party!!!! 😀 I’m sure you will see the Northern Lights, as they’ve been out quite a bit lately.

Leave a Reply

