Skip to content

New Mexico

December 5, 2015

After our quick Thanksgiving trip last week, I said goodbye to my Alaskan friend, and my brothers, and my grandparents and I started the 10 hour drive to New Mexico where I would spend the next 6 days before flying back to California.

photo (38)

Seen in the little (famous?) hole-in-the-wall Buckhorn Tavern (we went for the food people, it’s hardly a tavern)

It had been a few years since I had been to NM so it was interesting to see how much the area around Albuquerque has grown.  We didn’t get any snow this time, but it was cold and wintry. My sinuses didn’t really like the dryness and pretty much made life miserable for me until we made a quick Wal Mart run to grab some meds! But in spite of the sinus headaches we had a great time. Took a day trip down to the Bosque del Apache which was pretty fun. Gave my new Canon 70d a chance to get out and take some photos.

IMG_0085

IMG_0092

A million sand hill cranes flying overhead

IMG_0279

IMG_0178

IMG_0193

IMG_0208

IMG_0211

IMG_0221

IMG_0227

IMG_0243

IMG_0248
IMG_0280

IMG_0299

Can you see the bald eagle in the tree? (why do I never travel with my zoom lens???)

IMG_0300

IMG_0301

IMG_0304

IMG_0307

IMG_0313

We saw so many hawks

IMG_0322

Not sure what kind of birds they are, but all that white in the background is birds.

IMG_0107

Such pretty colors

IMG_0122

A hawk among all the sand hill cranes

IMG_0123

So many cranes!

IMG_0134

IMG_0136

I can’t help myself when I am out in nature and I have a camera in my hand. =) I always take way too many pictures. I think it’s an addiction. 😉

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Brenna Nepomuceno permalink
    December 5, 2015 2:17 pm

    Aww, my old home! Miss the blue skies! I don’t miss the dry air! Did you catch any beautiful sunsets?

    • December 5, 2015 3:28 pm

      No, not really. I did see the Sandia mountains turn pink at sunset though, that was neat. =)

Leave a Reply

