Skip to content

Thanksgiving

December 2, 2015

This time of year is my absolute favorite! We get fall (usually) and Thanksgiving and Christmas all about the same time and it’s just so much fun to pull out scarves and boots and coats and bundle up and spend time with family and friends eating and playing games. Last year I didn’t get most of that as I was living in Australia where it was summertime and I was away from family. Thankfully I had American friends to celebrate Thanksgiving with, and my Australian family to celebrate Christmas with. But it was summertime and it was certainly not sweater weather! (and Brisbane celebrates Christmas by setting off fireworks. With the weather it felt like the 4th of July to me. With Christmas music playing.

Anyway, this year my parents headed to Israel over Thanksgiving so my brothers and I all met up with my grandparents in Las Vegas, where my brother lives, and celebrated there.

I also got to meet my Alaskan friend and we drove to Vegas together since her brother also lives there. It was so great to finally meet her after all these years. It’s been so encouraging having a friend like her!

12308395_10153781990693923_1174567067154633997_n

Las Vegas was a whirlwind trip, and on the last night we decided to go check out some hotels on the strip since I’d never been. While it was an interesting experience, I don’t feel the need to go back again.  I was impressed with the Venetian, but real Venice is still better. =) Everything real is better and everything in Vegas seems so fake.

IMG_0041

The real Eiffel Tower is better, too.

IMG_0074

IMG_0079

IMG_0081

Barrie will never forget this night, and neither will I.

I have so, so, SO much to be thankful for. I am so thankful for the chance to be home for the holidays right now. It’s so fun being with family and eating yummy American foods again. I know I probably only have a few weeks left of it, so I am trying to enjoy every minute!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. December 2, 2015 11:14 am

    Hi Jen, you had mentioned that you probably only have a few weeks left of America, has God shown you where you’re going next?

    • December 5, 2015 11:58 am

      Hi gemsofgenres, yes, He has opened up a great opportunity to go back overseas to work with missionaries in a Christian school and also in their English outreach. I’m really excited but I am just waiting on a work visa before I tell everyone about it. I know He will work everything out in His time and as soon as I have a visa and plane tickets I will tell everyone!

      • December 5, 2015 6:16 pm

        Yay! I’m so happy for you! I’ll be praying that all goes well, and I can’t wait to hear about your time serving! ❤

  2. December 5, 2015 8:23 pm

    Thanks!

Leave a Reply

