Skip to content

Broome

September 8, 2015

IMG_8216

Last week I flew up to Broome for a few days. It was something I had been thinking about off and on for a while, but hadn’t really thought it would work out. It was pretty spur of the moment when I did decide to go for it and I booked a flight and a place to stay in just a few minutes. And then I realized I had booked my flights without checking first to see if I’d be up there to see the Staircase to the Moon like I had originally wanted. So I was relieved to realize I would have one chance to see it, the night I arrived. I was cutting it close by flying in at 5:45 pm and the moon rising at 7:22, but it worked out beautifully! It was so neat to see the bright red-orange of the moon rising over the total darkness of the mud flats, but I was a bit disappointed to realize that we were a bit far away from it and that I should have brought my zoom lens in order to get better pictures. But it was still neat to see and I managed to get some ok pictures, but certainly nothing great.

The next few days I did things such as rent a bicycle to ride out to Gantheaume Point to see the dinosaur tracks. Didn’t exactly make it out there in time before the tide came back in and covered them, as I had been told it would take 20 minutes to ride out and it actually took me an hour. [Should have known, Australians NEVER give the correct time estimates, ha.] Broome has some extreme tides, meaning that the tide can move very quickly and that it has very high and very low tides. It makes for an interesting walk on the beach when the tide is out.

I am glad I got the chance to see Broome, as it’s one of those places that Australians either love or always want to visit and never actually get the chance to get up there. (If you mention Broome to an Aussie you will inevitably hear “Ahhh, I want to go to Broome someday.”) It’s insanely expensive, both getting up there and then actually doing things when you are there, on top of the fact that Australia is already expensive in general. Someday when I am rich I will head back to the Kimberley region and do all the expensive trips that I can’t afford right now. The whole region looks so beautiful, but it sure comes at a steep price to get there!

_MG_8192


IMG_8232

The work of a sand bubbler crab on the beach

IMG_8253

IMG_8277

IMG_8279

IMG_8297

Casts of the dinosaur prints

IMG_8300

IMG_8312

IMG_8324

IMG_8355

IMG_8377

Whatever this thing was, it was squishy and still alive

IMG_8380

When the tide was out you could see the interesting rock formations that are usually under the water

IMG_8386

IMG_8399

IMG_8401

IMG_8424

This is normally all under water!

IMG_8426

IMG_8441

IMG_8449

IMG_8453

IMG_8459

Wanted to keep this pretty shell until…

IMG_8462

this guy came scrambling out

IMG_8481

IMG_8494

IMG_8507

IMG_8532

IMG_8552

IMG_8559

IMG_8570

IMG_8600

IMG_8619

IMG_8621

IMG_8622

The red squiggly lines are just lines drawn in the sand by creatures, exposing the red rock beneath.

IMG_8643

IMG_8669

Just a quiet, blue kookaburra hanging out

IMG_8670

4 Comments leave one →
  1. September 11, 2015 10:03 am

    These pictures are amazing. Love all the little sand tracks.

  2. September 20, 2015 5:33 pm

    You are an amazing photographer! *sigh* I want to go there!

Leave a Reply

