Skip to content

Small Miracles

August 11, 2015

I love when people ask me why I moved to Russia and I get the chance to tell them the whole story about wanting to live by faith and how that my time in Russia was the best one and a half years of my life and how God did little miracles for me all the time. There truly is nothing more exciting than getting to live by faith and getting to watch God work. It’s not always easy when you are up against a wall and totally dependent on God to work things out, but every single time He comes through and leaves you in awe of just how He does it. And the more He does it, the more you miss it when you fall back into the routine of living by sight and you lose sight of living by faith. Life just isn’t as exciting when we are in control.

A few weeks ago I was flying back from Japan and had a church friend scheduled to pick me up at 10:30 pm when I was to arrive. I was a little worried for her when she told me she’d never been to the international airport before but that she would figure it out. Then to make matters worse, my flight ended up being delayed by an hour and I had no way to get a hold of her. I only hoped she was able to use the flight tracker info I had sent earlier to find out about my delayed arrival.

Backing up a little…for the past few months my very old borrowed phone has decided to go completely on the fritz and do weird things like shut down in the middle of me doing something, even though the battery says it’s full. Sometimes if I wait a few minutes before turning it back on, it will then say the battery is partially full again. Or sometimes it will say 0%. Anyways, it just does completely random things and I can never depend on it anymore unless it’s plugged into the wall. Even then sometimes it will shut down. And sometimes when I turn it on, it has a new wallpaper on the background, one that has actions and pictures moving everywhere. I think it might be possessed. Anyway, it’s completely unreliable. Not the best phone to have when traveling.

Back to the airport. I had kept my phone off all day because I wanted to have battery left to call Cindy when I arrived so she would know where to find me. When we landed, very late, I turned on the phone and was surprised to see it only had 12% left! (for this phone 12% might as well be 0%). Since we weren’t allowed to make calls yet, I turned the phone back off to save the battery. When we finally were able to use our phones, I turned it on to see 6%. Then 1%. Then it shut off. I couldn’t believe it. Well, I could but…

The whole time I was walking through the airport and immigration I was unable to get enough juice to call her. I kept praying that it would just let me call her but it wouldn’t. I looked for outlets so I could sit and plug in the phone to call but couldn’t find any. I finally sat down on the floor in the baggage area and turned on my laptop and plugged in my phone to charge it from my computer battery. [Yes, people were looking at me like I was strange but I didn’t really care by that point.] But, to make matters worse, my phone cord doesn’t work very well and I couldn’t get it to charge for more than a second before it lost its connection. I tried and tried before seeing my bag coming down the belt but never was able to charge the phone. I packed up again and headed through customs and out to the arrivals hall. I again tried to charge my phone but to no avail. I had no idea how Cindy was going to find me, or if she was even still at the airport, now 1.5 hours later than when I told her I’d be there. I begged God to please just let her find me somehow as it was now after midnight and there was no public transportation available to me to get home. (With the distance I’d have to travel, taxis would be really, really expensive!) I had to work early the next morning so couldn’t just sleep in the airport.

With that last prayer for a miracle, I walked outside and across the street. In Australia you can’t just pull up at the curb to pick someone up, the close lane/street is only for taxis and shuttles, etc. Then there is a second street after the divider and that is where the cars drive. I crossed the first street and waited for the traffic to pass so I could cross the second street. The first car passed and the second car waved me to go in front of them. I started to cross when I realized the passenger in that car was frantically waving to me. I did a double take and saw my friend’s son waving to me. I was shocked that God had made it so simple to find her! Not only had we found each other within a minute of me walking outside, but she’d pulled up right in front of me! She later told me she’d been circling for 40 minutes, poor thing. But had she been a minute later we totally would have missed each other and I would have had no idea where to wait for her, and would have assumed she’d given up on me by that point. All I could do was smile and thank God for His perfect timing. He does things like that all the time.

_MG_7795

I can’t say I don’t stress at times when things don’t make sense to me, but I can say that I don’t doubt that God has a good plan through it all and that He will work things out for my good and His glory. My human nature still wants to try and take control sometimes even though my head knows that God’s got it all taken care of. But, the more you see God work, the more you have faith for the next trial or test that comes. And honestly, I don’t want to stop living like this. Part of my not wanting to live in America is my not wanting to give up this living by faith. It’s hard to explain unless you’ve been here but it’s just not the same when you are living in your own comfortable country where you know family and friends will step in to help out if you need it. You don’t even need to call on God, you just need to pick up the phone and call them. It’s totally not the same. But, I am excited for prospects for the future. Who knows what lies ahead, but I am super super thankful for other single Christian friends who have the same life goals as me and who are heading the same direction and who have the same vision and idea that I do. Here’s hoping that all our plans and dreams come to fruition!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. August 12, 2015 6:22 pm

    all I can say is…. Amen and Amen!!!

  2. September 20, 2015 5:20 pm

    Wow Jen this is really great! Amen! I really needed to hear this! I love how you just jumped in faith and let God catch you; It’s really inspiring. I’ll be praying for your transition to the U.S.

    • September 20, 2015 8:32 pm

      Thanks! Living by faith has been THE most rewarding thing I’ve ever done. It’s so much fun getting to see how God works and takes care of everything so much better than we can ourselves.

      • September 21, 2015 9:47 am

        It really is great watching Him do all HIs amazing things! Have you gone back to the U.S. yet or are you still in Australia?

  3. September 24, 2015 9:26 am

    I’m back in California now =)

Leave a Reply

