Skip to content

Spoiled and Blessed

August 10, 2015

IMG_7759

I’m sitting here in Perth, in my friend’s house, listening to the pouring rain and thinking back over this past year, and these past 10 years. 10 years ago last month I stepped on foreign soil for the very first time. I never imagined back then that one day I’d do all the traveling that I have done these past 10 years. Whenever I scroll through all my pictures from various places (which I do quite often) I am overwhelmed by just how much God has blessed me. I am constantly taking strolls down memory lane through various countries and never get tired of remembering all the adventures. And this last year in Australia? This has just been the icing on the cake. I really can’t put into words just how amazing this experience has been! I am truly spoiled rotten.

The past few weeks here have been interesting and God once again showed me how He can take care of the details and work things out. On Friday, July 31st, my host mom/employer told me she had hired her next au apair and that she was going to start asap, even though I wasn’t supposed to finish until Sept. I always read stories like this on different au pair facebook groups I am part of, but never thought it would happen to me! You just never know what you will get when you sign up to live with a family that you don’t know. Thankfully nothing worse has happened. Anyway so a friend had already told me I could stay with her if that happened and so I packed up all my stuff and moved in with her for a week. Then God lined up a temporary job with a family who needs someone just for a little over a week until they meet their new au pair in Bali. Tomorrow I will start that temp job and then next weekend my parents come! [I am really, really praying for nice weather since we’ve had some rain these past few days.] There have been so, so many little details to work out with moving and my parents coming and yet God has taken care of all those details and I am so thankful. I couldn’t have worked it out on my own. I am thankful that He sometimes brings things into our lives just to show us how much He is able to take care of us and to work out all the details!

I am so excited about seeing my nephew and everyone else that I keep counting down the days till I am home. Which is kinda sad because I know when I am home I am going to miss Australia like crazy, so I really need to just enjoy these last few days and do as much as I can. But it’s so hard when my heart just wants to be home. [it’s really complicated, ha.]

Yesterday between church services my friends took me to a Mexican place for lunch (best “Mexican” I’ve had since I’ve been here), and then up to see “The Tunnel” that they had been telling me about for a while. It’s an old train tunnel up in the hills that is no longer used. It ended up being a beautiful day to be out in nature. Australia is so pretty. I really am going to miss this place.

_MG_7772

_MG_7782

_MG_7792

_MG_7796

IMG_7751


IMG_7762

IMG_7764

IMG_7765

IMG_7768

IMG_7783

IMG_7785

IMG_7786

IMG_7788

2 Comments leave one →
  1. September 20, 2015 5:08 pm

    It’s amazing how God will just take care of and spoil His kids! 😀 I really like that you had said about how God brings things into our lives to show that He’s got us; That’s a really great way to look at some hard things I’ve been through! Thanks 😀

    • September 20, 2015 8:30 pm

      You’re welcome. =) It’s always encouraging to focus on all the good things He does!

Leave a Reply

