Skip to content

Esperance and Wave Rock

June 29, 2015
IMG_5840

One of the beautiful beaches at Bremer Bay

Last week one of my au pair friends from Brisbane flew into Perth and we spent 6 days roadtripping down south to Esperance and over to Wave Rock on our way back up to Perth. I had heard a lot about Esperance and everyone always raved about the stunning beaches, so I was really excited to be finally heading down there.

But…what is a road trip without a few hiccups? To start with, the weather forecast was awful. All it predicted was rain and thunderstorms for the time we’d be down there. We knew it was wintertime, obviously, so expected it to be cold. But I hadn’t thought about the fact that we might get rain. After picking up my friend from the airport, we headed  down the Albany hwy straight into Albany where we had planned to spend 2 nights. We had some pretty bad weather on the way, with gusts of wind blowing rain all over the place and huge road trains kicking up more water on our windshield. On the bright side, the rain kept all the kangaroos off the road! When we finally got down there and checking into our hostel, I discovered that I had left my backpack with literally all my clothes (minus my pjs) back at the house. That was a really fun surprise, ha. Thankfully I had all my toiletries, pajamas, and our towels in another bag so I at least had some things. We ended up walking to the nearby K-Mart and finding all the things I needed to get by for under $30.00!

We spent the next day in the Albany/Denmark area so I could show my friend all the beautiful places there. I got to see some new things too, thanks to a guy at the hostel telling us how we could climb over to a hidden beach. It was interesting trying to get there, but once we made it, it was so much fun!

The next day we drove to Esperance, stopping at Bremer Bay along the way, and visiting a lot of the beaches there. We had originally wanted to visit one of the national parks nearby, but a lady who stopped at a roadhouse we were eating lunch at, recommended we skip it as the road wasn’t paved and they had recently had rain. It was pitch black when we finally pulled into Esperance and I was so thankful we had taken her advice and skipped the park. It would have been so late when we finally got to our destination otherwise.

The next morning we had planned to drive the 38 kilometer Great Ocean Drive near Esperance, but when we woke up to a constant rain and very grey skies, we were unsure. We got up and got ready and then drove to the information office to ask about things to do when it’s raining. They didn’t really have too much to offer, although we did take their suggestions, stopping later at the glass shop and the fish leather factory after finishing the Great Ocean Drive, [the drive was FABULOUS.] The glass shop turned out to be a great stop as we were able to sit and have tea and scones and chat with the owner’s husband (I think?) and he recommended we still check out Cape Le Grand National Park even though it was raining. He said the weather was sometimes better over there and that it was still worth seeing in the rain. I am so glad we did (I had decided against it after we saw it was raining) because the stops were great even in the slight drizzle, and later the rain cleared up and the sky became beautiful! We would have missed so much had we not stopped.

The next morning we packed up and left Esperance [and our quirky hostel] and headed home by way of Wave Rock. So many Australians had told me Wave Rock wasn’t worth stopping at, but as it wasn’t out of our way to stop, we did anyways and I am so glad we did. It was so fascinating.

I highly recommend Esperance and the Great Ocean Drive and Cape Le Grand National Park!!!

_MG_5905

It made me smile to see so many windmills on the beaches

 

_MG_5907

 

IMG_5841

IMG_5862

IMG_5940

IMG_5980

IMG_5995

I would love to see all these beaches again on a sunny day. Even with the cloudy weather they were pretty!

IMG_5710

IMG_5718

IMG_5721

IMG_5735

IMG_5763

IMG_5767

IMG_5818

IMG_5826

IMG_5901

IMG_5915

IMG_5921

IMG_5931

IMG_5932

IMG_6062

IMG_6090

Haha! I need to work on my surfing pose!

IMG_6106

IMG_6112

IMG_6130

IMG_6139

IMG_6141

A beautiful double rainbow to finish off our trip

 

6 Comments leave one →
  1. June 29, 2015 5:22 am

    Beautiful photos!

    • June 29, 2015 5:32 am

      Thanks! They don’t even do justice to how beautiful it really was, as always seems to be the case =)

  2. June 29, 2015 5:32 am

    Love those pictures!

  3. June 29, 2015 11:20 am

    Love those beaches. Amazing!

Leave a Reply

