Skip to content

Hong Kong’s Goldfish Market

June 17, 2015

IMG_5027

Of the three markets, the goldfish market was by far the most difficult to find. I think it’s because it’s on a much busier street that sells many other things besides just fish (and animals). It was a very busy shopping street with all sorts of things for sale. And there weren’t fish shops right on the corner of the street, so I walked right by it. I discovered I wasn’t alone, however, in finding it difficult to find (ha) when I later helped point other tourists back towards it and then that night as I talked with a girl where I was staying and heard that she had tried to find it and had given up. Had I not spotted one lone, tiny fish shop a block or so away and asked him for directions, I don’t know that I would have ever found it myself either. But I am so glad I did. I was delighted to discover that not only are there fish for sale there [all sorts of kinds of fish], there were also puppies and kittens and turtles.

IMG_5041

IMG_5025

IMG_5051

There were boxes full of turtles climbing on each other, poor things. Made me feel claustrophobic just looking at them.

IMG_5052

IMG_5053

This adorable girl kept playing with the turtles and giggling and posing for me

IMG_5055

 

IMG_5060

All these fish eyes got a bit creepy.

IMG_5045

IMG_5046


IMG_5062

IMG_5063

IMG_5067

IMG_5068

A man inspecting some fish he just bought

IMG_5071

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

