Skip to content

Hong Kong’s Bird Market

June 15, 2015

When I booked my flights to Hong Kong and started researching things to see and do, I already knew that one of the things on my “must see” list was the markets of Mong Kok. Specifically the bird market, the goldfish market, and the flower market. Years ago I had read about them on a photographer’s blog and I knew that someday when I went to Hong Kong, I needed to go there, too.

The Yuen Po Bird Market was pretty easy to find (as opposed to the Goldfish Market that I will post about later). It was directly at the end of the flower market and I ran right into it after perusing all the flowers (will post about that later, too). The bird market was so noisy that I suppose you could also find it by listening for birds once you got in the general vicinity of it. =)

When I got to the street, I first saw men sitting everywhere chatting or huddled around bird cages discussing…birds, I suppose. Several men were walking around with bird cages and hanging them in the nearby trees. I hardly saw any women, and started to feel a bit out of place walking around. But no one seemed to mind. =)

IMG_4945

As the wall says, it is also sometimes called a “bird garden” but it definitely not a garden.

I definitely recommend checking it out when you are in Hong Kong. Unless you have an aversion to birds in cages, then you will definitely not enjoy it. I did feel bad for some of the birds. There was one specific kind of bird that no matter where I saw them along the market street, they were all constantly flying from one bar to another and seemed frantic to get out (they must be a very claustrophobic kind of bird, ha. I can relate.)

IMG_4953

IMG_4967

IMG_4989

IMG_4993

IMG_4998

IMG_4969

IMG_4974

There were so many interesting kinds of birds! I wished I could spend more time there, but as the birds were for sale and men were walking around discussing and buying them, I felt a bit awkward to keep sticking my lens into bird cages, ha. So I got some pictures and then left in search of the elusive goldfish market.

 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. June 15, 2015 10:58 am

    Lovely colourful pics – we will have to include the Bird Market on our list for when we visit!

    • June 15, 2015 6:45 pm

      Yes, you should! Also the flower market and goldfish market are nice as well. (Especially the flower market because you can pop into different shops and enjoy the air conditioning while you wander around and look at interesting plants) =)

Leave a Reply

