Skip to content

Point Peron

June 1, 2015
IMG_4458-001

One of many little walkways down to the ocean

 

IMG_4476

Looking out of the main cave

 

I am absolutely in love with Western Australia. I think most people who visit Australia tend to stick closer to the east coast in their travels and don’t always make it all the way out to WA. Which, while understandable, [there are so many great things on the east coast, and it’s a long distance across the country to get to WA] in my opinion is  a shame. Because the west coast is fabulous! The sunset are great, the weather is great, and the coastline is stunning. Not to mention all the national parks. [Broome and the Kimberley are on my mental bucket list, but due to prohibitive costs I am not sure if they will ever happen =(]

The other day I set out to do some exploring on my own. I first went down to Mandurah, but didn’t get a lot of time to explore as it started raining. I ducked into  Chocolateria San Churro to wait out the rain as my umbrella was in the car

IMG_20150523_142650

I’m not even a big fan of churros (especially at $9.00!) but the caramel sauce was really good. =)

 

but the dark clouds overhead didn’t seem to be letting up any time soon, so I just ran back to the car and left. As I drove, the weather cleared up, so I decided to continue on to Rockingham to see what it was like. After putting a random address into the GPS [according to my map it looked like it was near the beach] and then ending up in a random neighborhood, I pulled over and dug out the tourist brochure that I had, thankfully, brought with me. I saw Point Peron on the map and figured that might be a good place to start, so I set out in that direction. And I am so thankful that I did. It turned out to be a gem with lots of sand dunes and hills and little limestone caves and a rocky coastline that was fun to explore. I definitely plan to go back sometime soon!


IMG_4461

IMG_4462

 

IMG_4520

IMG_4465

IMG_4469


IMG_4477

IMG_4487

Like my mustache and great self photography skills? (balancing my camera on my umbrella on top of spiky limestone rocks was a challenge!)

 

IMG_4490

IMG_4501


IMG_4526

If you find find yourself in Australia someday [and I hope you do!], be sure to add Western Australia to your itinerary. There is SO much to see here!

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

