Skip to content

I love you, Australia!

May 4, 2015
IMG_2612

Shells on Shell Beach, Shark Bay

I have these says [like every day] where I walk around with a stupid smile on my face just because I love being here and I feel like life couldn’t be any more perfect. And everyone around me thinks I’m just really super friendly with my “lovely American accent” [yes, I am going to run that quote into the ground] and I just want to say “I love living in your country.” [Truth: I had Advance Australia Fair stuck in my head after ANZAC day. If that doesn’t scream “I love Australia” I am not sure what does.]

I mean, really, what is better than living in a country where everyone has an Australian accent? And you have kangaroos living in your backyard.
I mean, really.
Except it does bother me when you call tomAtoes tomAHtoes. And fish fillets “fill-ETs”
But other than that…I can call sweaters “jumpers” and flip flops “thongs” and I can even call ketchup “tomato sauce” if I have to. I can even spell curb k-e-r-b. And I can call bell peppers “capsicum” and the trunk of my car the “boot” and the hood “the bonnet.” [because honestly, I have a fascination with all things Britain and I feel very British referring to the “boot and bonnet.”]
I will even humor you and let you think that “Mahz Bahz”  [Mars Bars] are an Australian invention. [I’ve never been to a country where a candy bar is a “THING” like Australia treats Mars Bars].
Just let me live in your country and soak up all your sun and gorgeous beaches and quirky animals and beautiful accents. Forever.
As long as I don’t have to eat your vegemite.
– your not-so-secret admirer
6 Comments leave one →
  1. May 4, 2015 10:11 pm

    Just love Australia too!!!!!

  2. May 11, 2015 5:19 am

    Ha ha, Love this blog. You forgot aluminium lol. Glad you love Australia.I love the USA and would love to see more of it

    • May 12, 2015 2:51 am

      Oh yes, aluminium and a host of other things that I never remember when I sit down to actually write something. =)

  3. June 9, 2015 8:29 pm

    Ahh… That smile of loving a place! I wear it often! I don’t know Assie much. But NZ is home and its all quiet the same! Love it… The best is the day they tell you you talk like a native. He he Enjoy the rest of your stay… As I know you will.

    • June 10, 2015 3:52 am

      Thanks! I don’t think I will ever speak like a native, even when I use the same words they use. I just can’t master that accent. (At least for most words. For some words they have been impressed when I’ve mimicked them, haha).

Leave a Reply

