Skip to content

The Travel Life

February 2, 2015

I recently came across this article and loved it. [You should go read it] There’s just something about traveling/living abroad that no one else can relate to, unless they have done it too. There is something so wonderful and magical and inspiring and life-changing about traveling this gorgeous globe that makes me want everyone to get to experience it. And so I am tempted to gush about all the awe-inspiring places I’ve been to to anyone who will listen. The only problem is that sometimes people just think you are bragging about all you’ve seen or done. I don’t think they will really understand until they do it for themselves. We didn’t create this amazing planet. So there’s nothing to brag about, except how amazing our God is, and that is worth bragging about, for sure. And I feel like the luckiest girl in the world to get to experience it all.

I say all that to say, I am ridiculously excited about the next two months. I have to force myself not to talk about it much because I don’t want everyone to start avoiding me when they see me, ha, but I have seriously been counting the days for the past few weeks. I am excited, partly,  because this job has been a lot of work and I am happy that it will be over soon. It’s been a blessing being here, and it’s taught me a lot, and it’s afforded me a great opportunity to see what is probably the prettiest state in Australia, but it’s also been a challenge and I am ready for something new! I am also excited because I get to see my parents again for a few weeks! [it will be much too short but I am thankful for the time I get]. Also, I am really looking forward to getting lots of cheap massages and spa treatments in Thailand and Bali, ha. And also for the chance to travel some more, to see some new countries, to be challenged again for missions around the world, to spend time with some of my home church family, and to meet up with some friends [in New Zealand].

I don’t take for granted this amazing life God has given me. It’s honestly overwhelming all that He has given me and let me do these past few years. When I stop and think about it, it really is slightly unbelievable. It’s the life I always marveled at [when I saw other people living it], and always dreamed of living, but I never really imagined I would be doing it!

I wish more people would take the time to get out of their own area and see more of the world around them. It really is much more doable than people think. It doesn’t have to be expensive, and you really can find the money for it if you want to. I cringe when I hear of people taking their kids on vacation to Disney World.* If you can afford a Disney World vacation, you can certainly afford to take your kids to Costa Rica to climb some volcanoes and feed some wild monkeys and exotic birds. You can afford to take them whitewater rafting and to the Caribbean Sea. You can afford at least that if nothing else! [I haven’t been to Costa Rica but it’s on my list and flights there are as cheap as to Florida, so no excuses!] You could also fly to Puerto Rico for cheap. Or the Virgin Islands. Disney World? I don’t plan on having kids (I know, never say never, so whatever happens is cool but…) but you can bet if I ever did, we would not be spending all our vacation time on paved concrete eating popcorn and buying plastic swords. [I know, there’s a place for everything, but some people do this year after year!] My kids would know how to find Brazil on a map and how to locate China and Russia and Australia. ;)* They might even be able to tell you hello in five different languages.

Ok, maybe I do need to have kids after all [wink]. Or maybe that’s what nieces and nephews are for.

Because, when you live someplace where you get visitors like these in your backyard [daily], it’s hard to not want others to get to experience it, too!

_MG_4302

_MG_4306

_MG_4306-002

_MG_4307-001

_MG_4326-001

Can you find all six rainbow lorikeets in this picture?

 

 

*This is prompted, in part, by a recent babysitting job I had. The 3 year old boy had a world map taped to his playroom floor and could point out several countries when I asked him about them! Kudos, parents! And it was written and scheduled to post before any of you posted about Disney World on facebook, just for the record. =) Nothing against amusement parks, especially if you live local to them. I just think there are better ways to spend thousands of dollars when planning a vacation and I wish more people were more aware of the huge, incredible world around them.

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

