Skip to content

I’m still alive!

November 23, 2014

This poor, neglected blog. Back in the day when I started it, to help fill the long, slightly-boring reference desk hours (I mean, what else can you do at 11 pm when there is no one in the library, right?) there weren’t a whole lot of insanely exciting things happening in my life. I mean, I had just finished grad school, moved back to California, started working as the dorm supervisor at PBC, started back at GPL, started working at APU (yes that means 3 jobs at once), ended a confusing relationship, and taken only my second overseas trip (the one that started my love affair with seeing the world), so there was all that. But it wasn’t anything like jumping out of airplanes or snorkeling the Great Barrier Reef or learning to drive on the other side of the road, or struggling to live in a country where you really need to know as much Russian as possible. I wasn’t snapping selfies with McLarens or riding camels or climbing the pyramids or swimming in the Mediterranean. And yet, I was blogging my normal existence with exuberance. Ha. And now? Now when I really have some pretty exciting things I could write about….I rarely take the time to even pop up a few pictures. Pathetic, I know. There are no valid excuses. Anyway, I have today off and am using it to recuperate from a long weekend with the triplets. Want to know what’s even more fun than a short roadtrip with your BFFs? A 2 hour car ride with three 6 year olds, one of whom spends the entire ride putting his feet up on either side of your headrest and kicking your neck. While making a loud, squeal-y type noise the entire time. Oh yes, lots of fun! 😉  Anyway, so today is being spent doing nothing (unless unpacking and doing laundry and cleaning count as something) and enjoying the peace and quiet. Did you know it’s possible to think you might go slightly crazy after spending 3 days with three children, one of whom has Autism and who can literally repeat [in a high pitched squeal] “GREEN CROCODILE!!!!” ALL day long because he played with one at the pool and now has become obsessed with one? I’m here to tell you it’s true, friends. I made it out of Russia without freezing to death, so I am pretty sure I can make it out of Australia without going crazy, but there’s always that slight possibility… 😉 Ok so back to the blog. There are soooo many things I need to update you all on. There are so many uniquely Australian things that I need to write about so that I don’t forget them all when I leave this place. I really need to get better at this. But we all know that’s never really going to happen, right? Until the day when life is back to “normal” and I don’t have the time to do it, somehow then I will keep it updated. It’s been interesting living in Australia. On the one hand I love it. It’s amazing. And so easy to live here where I don’t have to struggle daily with people understanding me/me understanding them. Oh, and it’s gorgeous. On the other hand, part of me misses Russia. Don’t know that I’d ever go back, but who knows. I’ve learned to never say never, ha. Who knew I’d end 2014 in Australia? I certainly never saw that coming when I boarded the plane to head back to Russia at the beginning of the year. But I miss the struggles, the constantly having to depend on God for literally everything. Life wasn’t easy there, so it forced me to pray constantly. And I saw God do amazing things. I know I say it all the time, but seriously, that year and a half was the most amazing time of my life. Part of coming to Australia was to continue that journey, but I have to say, it’s harder to live by faith here. Not impossible, but I have to remind myself constantly that just because life is easier here doesn’t mean I get to just coast. I have to make more of an effort to live by faith here. I think that while I saw God constantly doing things in Russia, here in Australia it feels more like a waiting time. Like I don’t see or feel things happening. And it causes me to wonder if I am just not praying enough or if it’s really just a time to test my faith, to see if I really am walking by faith, or if I am walking by sight. Not gonna lie, it gets easier to walk “by faith” when God is answering prayers and doing amazing things. When He’s silent and it feels like He’s not answering, it gets harder to “live by faith.” And it’s convicting. Anyway, I really don’t know what this year/next year holds (I know, none of us do) but I guess that’s become the new normal for me. =) It’s what I asked for, so I can’t complain. It’s frustrating at times to feel like we have to learn the same lessons again and again, but I am glad God is a patient God. I am sure I wouldn’t put up with me like He does! And, of course, some random photos just for fun.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

These poinciana trees are all over Brisbane and I LOVE them. They are so colorful and fun.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Just a pretty house with a poinciana tree in front of it (the poincianas all have varying shades of red and varying amounts of flowers/huge seed pods.)

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

For some reason these ads just crack me up

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Butterflies inside the Queensland Museum and Sciencecentre

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

A dazzlingly colorful array of local bugs/beetles. Delightful.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Especially these guys, eek. They are huge!

IMG_9900

How do you keep 6 year old girls entertained? Treasure hunts work for about 10 minutes lol. (Yes, my bike drawing skills are quite legendary)

One Comment leave one →
  1. January 10, 2015 8:14 am

    GREEN CROCODILE!!!! Oh dear. lol

    And LOVE your treasure hunt clue. 😀

Leave a Reply

