Skip to content

Home

August 12, 2014

A week ago today I arrived back home in Los Angeles more than 24 hours after I first left my apartment in Moscow. The last few days in Moscow alternated between crazy and me just waiting for time to tick by so I could actually pack everything up and go. I tried packing early but then had to keep pulling things back out. In the end I ended up leaving about half my wardrobe in my apartment for my flatmate to donate. Between packing and cleaning I tried to cram in a few last dates with friends. I tried not to think about every event being my last of its kind in the city. I hate goodbyes and just the thought of something being my last time experiencing it threatened to turn on the tears. “My last time riding this metro,” “my last time at church,” “my last night in this apartment.”

Thankfully there were so many things to look forward to in coming home, and so many things changing in Moscow that helped push me out, that I was ready to go in the end. I was so excited to go home that I couldn’t get on that plane fast enough. =) A far cry from my thought a few weeks earlier that I might spend the entire flight in tears. It probably also didn’t hurt that Moscow’s Domodedovo airport is always about 15 degrees too hot and any time spent inside is too much time there. Getting on an air-conditioned plane is always welcomed.

Anyway…in one sense it’s hard to believe my Russian life is over, but in another sense, it’s so wonderful being home it’s like I never left. =) I’m just trying not to think about the fact that I am most likely leaving again in 6 weeks. I am not sure what is happening with my Australian visa at the moment, but if that all works out I should be moving again at the end of September. In the meantime, though, I am enjoying every minute of being back in America. Love this place.

It’s so good to be home!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

