Skip to content

Today’s tidbits

February 24, 2014

One thing I love about Moscow? There is an аптека (pharmacy) on practically every corner. Seriously. No googling “nearest CVS/Walgreens” needed here! If you don’t live next to one, there is surely one (or ten) on your daily route! Today I set out to walk to the one near my apartment. I knew right where it was, since I had been there once, AND the bus stop just outside is simply named “аптека” so I hear it every day as well as I ride past it. Well, I walked to the store that I just knew it was located next to, and it wasn’t there! I kept walking, so confused. Where was it? Could it have closed? I walked farther. Then turned around and headed back, thoroughly confused. And then I spotted it. It was not exactly where I had remembered it, but was set back behind where I had thought it should be. [I will definitely remember for next time]. When I walked in, a lady behind the counter called me up and as I stooped to look through her little window [think bank teller window], I pushed through a little piece of paper on which I had carefully written “Тетрациклиновая мазь,” just as my nurse friend had told me. She rattled off something in Russian and I had no idea what she was asking. I gathered she was asking which kind I needed, but I didn’t know there would be options, so I responded simply with a Russian “I don’t know.” To which she smiled and made a face like “how can you not know?” I think she was asking if I needed an oral or topical antibiotic, but I am not entirely sure. I just pointed to my toe and she went off to get it. When she brought it back and told me the price I was shocked. Surely this was not the antibiotic that my friend had told me to get! I reached in and looked at the box. It looked almost exactly like what had been written on the paper, minus the last “овая”, but I was pretty sure that didn’t matter as I figured it was just an adjective ending. She said something in Russian and nodded as if to say “yes, that’s what you wanted.” So I paid the 15 rubles that she had asked for, and that was written on the box, and left. How could an antibiotic cost only fifty cents? I am still shocked at the price, but my friend confirmed that yes, some medications here are very cheap. I googled it to see what it’s used for, and it does appear to be what I need, so we’ll see what happens. I think my toe is looking better already!

[My roommate went to the pharmacy yesterday and brought me back some balsam liniment that she said would help my toe. It cost 200 rubles (6 dollars), but my friend said that won’t help. I’m still surprised that what I did need cost so much less than what I didn’t need, ha].

(I know, I sound like such an old lady talking about medical stuff, gah. The adventures of medical problems overseas just brings it out in me, I can’t help it. So thankful though for good health this entire last year. I can’t imagine dealing with more difficult things over here!)

After the pharmacy, I went up to a lesson before needing to run some errands for my upcoming trip. While we were playing and such, the little girl decided to name one of the butterflies [from our storyboard/cling-on set] “Jesus Christ” and then proceeded to ask me to provide his speaking parts as one of the dinosaurs wanted to eat him, oh my. Talk about feeling very sacrilegious! At least she didn’t tell me she was Jesus, like she has in the past. This girl…

Next up on today’s agenda was to find the only Bath and Body Works in Moscow and get some travel sized body wash for my trip. Thankfully it was easy to find the mall, considering it was one I had never been to before. I’ve been here over a year and the malls still never cease to amaze me! They are so modern and fancy and have such exquisite stores and merchandise. I just wish it wasn’t all so stinkin’ expensive! I would have THE most legit wardrobe ever if it was cheaper. Seriously. They know how to do fashion here and it’s amazing. After not finding a mall plan and wandering the entire 4 story mall, I finally looked it up on my phone and saw that it was located back down on the first floor. Ugh, how had I missed it? [Ok, it’s the smallest BBW I’ve ever seen but still…]. After finding what I needed, I was definitely missing American BBW stores since these 3 travel sized items cost me over 15 dollars. And that’s with getting one of the gels for FREE! [so basically, 2 travel gels and the tiniest hand sanitizer I’ve ever seen for 15 bucks. Crazy.]
IMG_7782

After I got back on the metro to head home, I smelled the strong odor of nail polish and was surprised that someone was getting on the metro with wet nails! Then I realized who it was as a woman sat down right next to me. In her hand she was holding a bottle of nail polish, and she was admiring the nails on her other hand, which she had half smeared with the polish. Her nails looked awful and soon I realized she was crazy as she started carrying on a conversation with the empty space next to her (the woman who HAD been sitting there had quickly gotten up when this other woman sat down). I started worrying that she would get her wet nails near me, or start trying to talk to me. As soon as we stopped and I had the chance, I slid way over on the bench. =) Here’s a cell pic I snapped, trying to capture her crazy nails. Oh well, you can’t really see. [to top it off she was wearing a hilarious outfit and the most ridiculous eye makeup]

IMG_1091

Partway through the ride she pulled out this camera and started watching something on it.

After getting off at my metro stop, I wandered in to the mall to find a Megafone store to add money to my cell phone [phone plans here are basically all pre-paid/pay as you go plans, and I LOVE it. Plus they are cheap. Love that even more. Medicine and talking on the phone here = cheap]. I didn’t need to add money yet to my phone but my friend wanted me to add money so we can use it to call our hosts on our trip, so…one more trip thing done, yay. So much still to do. [You know you are getting ready to go on a trip when you start to have those “I have to leave in one hour and I haven’t packed yet” dreams! Ugh. Hate them. Dreamed the other night that I had 2 hours before my flight left and I hadn’t packed yet. My dad told me “you really should leave right now” and as I tried to quickly go pack, all my brothers jumped on me and were like “We need to take pictures” and kept taking group shot after group shot as I was like “you guys, I have to pack!” haha. My brothers wanting pictures taken, right. That should have been my first clue it was just a dream.

Then as I walked to the bus stop to head home, I walked past a man out walking his dog. The boxer was wearing four black boots. Now, I’ve seen lots of dogs here in all sorts of costumes, shoes, etc. But this one was like wearing lace up black boots that went halfway up his legs. He made clacking sounds on the sidewalk as if he was a person wearing dress shoes. I realllllly wanted to take a picture!

And that was pretty much my day in its entirety.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. February 24, 2014 1:05 pm

    50 cents for medicine?! Wow. I guess you made up for it in your BBW stop. lol

    • February 24, 2014 1:08 pm

      That is true! Considering what I had expected to pay for the medicine, I guess I should think of the BBW as all free stuff haha. =)

      • February 24, 2014 1:09 pm

        lol There you go! I think I’m super happy for you that there is even a BBW for you to shop at! lol

Leave a Reply

