Skip to content

Another rambling update

February 23, 2014

There is so much swirling around in my brain these days…I don’t think I will even try to assemble this into any sort of cohesive post. I will just throw all my jumbled thoughts out there and let them lie where they fall.

These days wanderlust is taking over my head. I think this being in one place for an entire year now is making me anxious to be out there traveling and exploring new places. Which is silly, really, considering I’ve only been back in Moscow for 5 weeks now. And last year? I spent so much time traveling that it’s not like I was just “cooped up” in Moscow. Which, even if I had been…there is so much to see and do here that that would not have been a bad thing. Honestly, when I stop and think about all the capital cities I have visited around the world, I can’t think of a single one that would be more interesting to live in. London used to be my favorite city, and still holds a huge piece of my heart, but while I think it would be fabulous to live there, it might also get boring quickly. Then again, I might get so much more out of it considering I’d understand the language and know exactly what is going on and when. And there are plenty of fabulous nearby destinations to check out. Maybe I wouldn’t be bored after all.

Rome? Love it, but not sure I’d want to live there. Maybe I would. I do adore the gelato and pizza. And the views. And the architecture.  Budapest? Loved it. But it’s so small…Okay, I might really enjoy Stockholm. I did fall head over heels in love with Sweden when I was there last summer. I have only good things to say about Sweden. Monte Carlo? The French Riviera might be nice…insanely pricey though, and pretty hot during the summer. Besides, same for Paris, I’d for sure have to pick up some French to feel at home there and I have no desire to learn French. I don’t know…I can’t think of where I’d like to live next. Africa might be cool.

I’m pretty sure wanderlust is a disease, ha. I absolutely love where I am right now [minus a few annoyances and such] but this urge to get out and see, see, see and photograph, photograph, photograph is…overwhelming. I have to force myself at times to simply relax and enjoy where I am and not think about all that is out there that I am missing out on.

I distinctively remember one day when I was a teenager working at the public library and pushing around a cart of books and this thought popped into my head, “you will never have enough time in your lifetime to read all that has been written [all that I would be interested in].” It was such a sad thought and it really made me think. We have a finite number of days on this earth. There is only so much we can do and see. And the thought that I won’t even get to see all of this amazing world that God created, much less really experience it,  makes me sad, too. I want to see as much as I can. And I feel like I am running out of time, ha.

Anyway…

I guess it’s a good thing I have a trip coming up on Friday! My friend and I are flying to Ljubljana, Slovenia and then off to Croatia, then to Bosnia and Herzegovina, and finally on a short layover in Serbia we’ll try to see Belgrade before heading back to Moscow. To be honest, I am not even sure of all the details since she pretty much planned the whole thing. I am super excited about it all, except for the packing part. Not a fan of packing in the first place, but since she’s only bringing a backpack, I am trying to fit my stuff at least into my tiny rolling carryon, and it’s going to be rough. I won’t even be able to bring my laptop, which means no uploading pictures each day, which means having to conserve memory card space on my camera. =( Now I wish I had an extra memory card!

The other day, while Skyping with my parents, I absentmindedly ripped a  hangnail off my toenail. [I knew you would really want to know that, that’s why I shared it. ;P] Then I kinda freaked out when I realized what I had done. [See, people? This is why you shouldn’t talk on the phone and drive at the same time – you don’t even pay attention to what you are doing when you are talking!] And yep, then it got all nasty and infected and boo it hurts so bad. I was limping around Moscow yesterday. And now I’m really, really, really praying it gets better by Friday! I’m off to track down some antibiotic cream tomorrow. Wish me luck! [ I also have a million other odds and ends to get done/purchased before Friday and I’m trying not to think about it {because that really helps things}.

The weather here lately? FABulous. Yesterday was all cloudy/overcast/foggy, but the weather report said the sun was supposed to come out at 2pm. Well, not only did the sun NOT come out, it started SNOWING instead. Light, light snow, but still, snow. But it was so light that it didn’t accumulate and the roads and sidewalks were still so nice and clean and dry. (Usually they are slushy and muddy and GROSS). Then I woke up at 2 am and peered out the window and was shocked to find everything was white! It had really been snowing overnight! I guess I had thought all that great weather was here to stay.  But then it all melted today.

Here are a few pictures from the last few days:

IMG_1085

Are these not the most amazing roses?

 

_MG_7725

_MG_7729

_MG_7732

_MG_7733

_MG_7735

IMG_7743

A fun bench we found in Gorky Park

IMG_7745

IMG_7750

_MG_7634

_MG_7640

_MG_7641 _MG_7643

_MG_7644

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

