Skip to content

Sparrow Hills

October 21, 2013

_MG_5329

Last week I decided to venture back over to Sparrow Hills to see Moscow from the highest spot in the city. The last time I had gone, I showed up to find out the Olympic torch relay was coming by soon, and so that changed my plans a bit. And the next time I planned to go ended up being a foggy, rainy day, not exactly conducive to seeing the views. So when the following day dawned bright and sunny, I knew I had better take advantage of it. When I first arrived at the station, I wasn’t sure which direction to start in, but decided to head in the opposite direction from what I had taken last time and that ended up being the right way, yay. There appeared to be stairs leading to the top of the hill, but they had been blocked off (and then clearly broken into as evidenced below) _MG_5245 _MG_5246I wasn’t sure if I dared go through this way or not, it looked pretty creepy. And then I noticed the huge pile of trash and mud and water at the base of the stairs and decided it wasn’t a good idea. So up the slippery, muddy, leafy hillside instead.

IMG_5251

The whole path was very slippery with leaves that were covered with mud

IMG_5252

And if the mud wasn’t enough, these steps also try to kill you as you walk up. You seriously have to watch where you walk around here…

It was slow going to get to the top, as I didn’t want to slide off the side, ha. But once I got to the top, it was worth it.

IMG_5278

The ski jump doesn’t look very high from far away, but from up close it looks high. Someone was walking towards it with skis in his hand as I walked by.

IMG_5268

Just liked this old restaurant sign

IMG_5265

The ski jump and the wheel for the ski lift

 

IMG_5257

IMG_5258

IMG_5259

IMG_5260

IMG_5272

IMG_5274

The huge old Olympic stadium and some fall color

IMG_5275

After enjoying the views from the platform, and enjoying the snippets of English I heard from the Viking River cruise tour guide, I wandered over to check out this church nearby.

IMG_5279

_MG_5287

IMG_5282

IMG_5294 IMG_5295

Anyone know what these orange things are? They are so interesting, and reminded me of bleeding hearts?

IMG_5298

IMG_5299

After wandering around the outside of the church, I crossed the street to check out the imposing Moscow State University. One of the seven sisters, it’s the only one being used as a university.

_MG_5302

_MG_5304

_MG_5306

Line of little food stands near the university

_MG_5308

Wandering back home

IMG_5250

_MG_5310

Walking through the park on the way back to the metro

_MG_5311

_MG_5312

Each of these branches has a sign above it indicated what kind of tree it’s from

_MG_5314

Cute little duck pond

_MG_5327

_MG_5330

And then, just some randomness from my week:

IMG_5340

Sigh. Pictures never do justice to the interesting-ness of the buildings here

IMG_5337

Was taking pictures of the fabulous fall foliage nearby when I spotted…a Camry. 😉 Miss my car. Well, what used to be my car.

IMG_5335

Such a pretty tree

_MG_5341

Night view from the metro, looking down towards my apartment

IMG_5332

Random building

IMG_5333

These flowers and green garland duct taped to this tree made me smile. I’m guessing maybe it’s a memorial of some sort, but it was just kinda random

IMG_5334

IMG_5336

Row of pretty fall trees

IMG_5339

I found the Papa John’s – by accident – that I knew was somewhere around here. Happy day! =)

One Comment leave one →
  1. October 21, 2013 9:55 am

    I love the pictures of the park and university! 🙂 I mean, I like all the pictures, but those made me smile.

Leave a Reply

