Skip to content

Olympic torch relay and Воробьевы горы (Sparrow Hills)

October 9, 2013

Yesterday started out like any other day here.  I woke up late, did stuff around the apartment, walked down to the grocery store, totally procrastinated on my plans to check out a new park/area (Воробьевы горы) and finally left the house around 3 pm.  I hadn’t planned to stay out too long, and the temperature was in the 50s, so I wore a sweater and scarf  (that I only put on later on in the day) and that was it – no gloves, hat, boots or coat. I had no idea I’d end up spending hours up there, and end up in Red Square in the evening! Had I known, I would have planned better! (That’s the beauty of living IN the city and not commuting – no rush to have to hurry back to catch a bus home! It tends to allow for much more spontaneity.

Anyways, I showed up at the station (Воробьевы горы) and it was beautiful, just as I had read. Floor to ceiling glass walls and a mini museum of sorts in the center of the platform. There were beautiful views of the Moskva river, Moscow State University, the ski jump, and the city itself from the platform.

_MG_4721

University and ski jump

_MG_4720

These pictures don’t do justice to the view.

_MG_4722

_MG_4724

 

_MG_4726

This redhead and her red coat made me smile. Wish I had gotten a better shot of her.

_MG_4727

Exiting the metro. So quiet and pretty.

_MG_4728

_MG_4729

_MG_4730

_MG_4731

After I exited the metro, I wasn’t really sure what direction to start in. I read the signs and decided to head towards the monastery. I followed the signs until there weren’t any, and so I just decided to head down to the river first and then work my way back up towards the top and the view of Moscow.

IMG_4735

IMG_4736

IMG_4737

When I got to the bottom of the hill, there was a police car blocking off the road that my path led to. I wasn’t sure if I would be allowed to pass, but I was, and then I noticed that there were policemen, standing at attention, lining the entire road. Some intervals had several policemen there. I hesitantly asked one of them what was about to happen and they rattled off something in Russian, the only thing of which I understood was “Olymicsky” or something like that. =) All I knew was it had something to do with the Olympics, and since I had missed the torch lighting ceremony the day before, I was hopeful that this meant the parade would bring the torch! I asked them what time it started and they didn’t know. So I wandered along the river, just enjoying the views, taking pictures, and keeping an eye on the road so I didn’t miss the action. Well, I needn’t have worried since the whole thing didn’t start for another hour and a half!

_MG_4756

Majorly cracked sidewalks. Not a good idea to text and walk here!

_MG_4740

_MG_4741

_MG_4744

_MG_4752

More cracks and potholes =)

_MG_4757

_MG_4759

_MG_4762

_MG_4766

_MG_4767

_MG_4777

_MG_4780

_MG_4781

It’s getting festive. People are showing up with their Russian flags, and red, white and blue balloons, but no sign of anything yet. (This was before two Russian girls told me it started at 6 pm)

_MG_4786

_MG_4788

I wandered back and forth near the Moskva river, not wanting to miss the parade and trying to keep warm since anytime I sat, I started to get cold. SoI just kept taking pictures (and imagining that I would take so many pictures I’d run out of battery by the time the parade came by). During this time I met two Russian women when they asked me to help them learn how to use their phones to take pictures. I was unsuccessful at helping them, but they decided to stick around and try to chat with me anyways. I say “try” because they spoke zero English, and we all know how good my Russian is, ha. I don’t think I have said “I don’t understand” in Russian more times in any one given day than I did yesterday. But we had a lot of laughs and we were able to communicate some. They wanted to know all about me and then once they found out I was single, they decided I needed to marry their son/nephew (they were sisters). They insisted that he was one of the Olympic athletes and even called him at one point during the night to tell him about me. In retrospect, they were some of the only middle aged women I saw there (most of the crowd was young people) and they were all into it, running along with me to get pics and stuff, so I guess it makes sense that they had a family member involved, judging by their excitement level. They sure added to the fun for me.

_MG_4805

_MG_4842

TV guys getting their reporter all wired up

_MG_4834-001

These pretty little birds never stayed still long enough for me to get good pics


_MG_4806

_MG_4811

_MG_4830

_MG_4834

When the parade started, the fun started! A huge Coke truck came by, handing out flags and pompoms and cans of Coke. Several vans/buses of Olympic athletes came by, and then periodically the van would stop, an athlete would get out and the runner (who had the torch) would meet up with him and pass on the flame by lighting his torch. The torch that was left behind would be mobbed by groups wanting pictures with it, until it was extinguished.  It was a lot of fun to watch.

 

_MG_4846

_MG_4850

_MG_4851

Guy handing out free Cokes, yay

_MG_4854

_MG_4856

_MG_4857

_MG_4858

_MG_4861

_MG_4862

_MG_4864

_MG_4865

_MG_4866

_MG_4868

_MG_4871

_MG_4872

_MG_4881

_MG_4884

My new friend, Olga, snapping a picture of the torch with her cell. (She’s the one who wanted me to marry her Olympian son, ha. I still wish I knew which event he was competing in)

_MG_4885

_MG_4886

_MG_4887

_MG_4891

Nice leaf hat

_MG_4895

The ‘leftover’ torch (after it had lit the next one)

_MG_4896

_MG_4897

IMG_4876

IMG_4877

IMG_4878

IMG_4880

IMG_4789

Can you tell I was just a little bit excited about the whole thing? Ha.

_MG_4930

Blurry map of the route the torch will take around Russia

After the parade had passed us, Olga and ZIna* told me that now the athletes (they called them “sportsmen”) would head to Red Square and there would be a concert and stuff. So I followed them as we zigzagged our way through the metro and navigated our way to Red Square. That proved to be a challenge since there were lots of people and each way we tried kept ending in a dead end as so much was blocked off. We finally arrived (after passing the darkened Bolshoi Theatre area, which I later found out was getting read to host this and I am still bummed that once I realized (after I’d gotten home) I didn’t head back up there to watch it.) and realized we couldn’t enter the area for another hour, unless we had a ticket, which we didn’t. By then it had started raining and after waiting a while, I decided to skip the rest and head home. I hadn’t planned to be out so long anyways. I said goodbye to my new friends and headed home. Then I got a text from a friend letting me know about the light show (actually, he had sent it earlier but I hadn’t seen it) – I was so tempted to head back up there, but I had just gotten home and was so hungry and tired.

But, at least I got to see the Olympic torch – that was more than I had originally planned for the day. Although now I need to head back to Sparrow Hills since I hardly saw anything due to waiting for the parade.

What an interesting, fun day!

*At one point I used google translate on my phone to tell the ladies something and they were so surprised to see a message on my phone in Russian. They immediately got out their (dumb) phones and were searching for a translate feature! They kept looking and looking and I just didn’t bother trying to explain that I had used the internet to translate.

Pics of Moscow at night:

_MG_4928

_MG_4902

_MG_4914

_MG_4918

_MG_4910

Gah, still so bummed I missed the show.

_MG_4927

_MG_4907

_MG_4904

I just love this, it looks so creepy to me.

_MG_4905

Some dude pointing out to my two new Russian friends how to get to Red Square since it was all blocked off. I liked his Coke bottle that kept lighting up (???) it was so cool.

_MG_4917

Crowds gathering to watch the Circle of Light light show on the Bolshoi Theatre. I am so bummed that I only found out AFTER the event that it was taking place (I had wondered why so many people were just standing there staring at it.) And also, cool clouds.

_MG_4920

Hard to believe but this was my first time in the city center at night. Crazy, I know.

_MG_4923

One Comment leave one →
  1. October 10, 2013 9:28 am

    I just loved all the pictures! 🙂 And the more detailed story. How fun! What an adventure!

Leave a Reply

