Skip to content

Sokolniki Park/Парк Сокольники

October 1, 2013

As I sit here writing this, most of my life here in Domodedovo is packed up and ready to be moved up to Moscow. My room is still a mess, of course, since it’s hard to still be living here while trying to pack everything up, and my thoughts are just as jumbled a mess. I am excited and nervous about this new chapter! There will be pros and cons to living in the city, but I am hoping, and assuming, that the pros will outweight the cons. One huge plus will be not having to take the marshrut from the country into the city and then home again, each day! That will save me a lot of time! I am not sure if this is a plus, a minus, or something neutral, but I will be living with two Russian girls! Thankfully one of them speaks English very well. However, the other one doesn’t speak English at all. We’ll see how this goes. =)

It’s getting colder and colder here now. The forecast on my yahoo phone app showed that it was currently SNOWING when I looked at it this morning. However, I never saw any signs of snow so I am not sure it was correct (the weather forecast is rarely correct, it seems). I am almost happy to have snow again since it will at least mean it won’t be raining. A friend recently told me that the average rainfall for Sept for Moscow is 4 inches. This year we got 12 inches of rain in Sept. The most since 1885, according to him. Add that to last year’s record snowfall and I think this area is getting plenty of precipitation! 

On Saturday I went to check out another new-to-me park since I am trying to see as much as I can before it’s just too cold outside, and I had seen on the park’s website that there was a festival going on there. The festival we arrived at was not the festival I had seen advertised online, but it was still fun and despite the rain and cold we had enjoyed it. My friend and I both agreed we’d go back again to get more pics (she’s a photography teacher!)

I am not sure what, if anything, deaf people had to do with this festival, but there were LOTS of them there. Everywhere I went I saw large groups of deaf people all signing to each other. Then on the huge megatron I saw someone signing and saw the Russian words listed below. Since I know some sign language and some Russian, it was interesting to me to watch it since I could understand it all – in both languages. =)

After dinner we took the metro to a Russian restaurant that Kate knew of.  It was nice to try some new Russian food and have a fairly good idea of what I was ordering since Kate speaks Russian.

 

Lately I've seen a lot of people walking around with bunches of leaves. =)

Lately I’ve seen a lot of people walking around with bunches of leaves. =)

IMG_4410

Wish I could have gotten a better picture of these two...cowboys?

Wish I could have gotten a better picture of these two…cowboys?

IMG_4414

IMG_4415

These two plastic, plastic-covered horses made me do a double take

These two plastic, plastic-covered horses made me do a double take

IMG_4419

IMG_4420

IMG_4421

IMG_4424

A bit cold and rainy for outdoor eating today...

A bit cold and rainy for outdoor eating today…

IMG_4442

There were lots of banyas all around!

Love this!

Love this!

Kate giving a thumbs up for our free (chocolate, toffee, caramel and of all things, pina colada) popcorn. The guy at the stand gave it to us as a present after we asked the cost and decided not to buy, lol. Russia keeps surprising me.

Kate giving a thumbs up for our free (chocolate, toffee, caramel and of all things, pina colada) popcorn. The guy at the stand gave it to us as a present after we asked the cost and decided not to buy, lol. Russia keeps surprising me.

 

IMG_4431 IMG_4432

IMG_4435

Me with my blue-eyed, redheaded matryuskha twin =)

I love this huge live/love sign

I love this huge live/love sign

IMG_4444-001

Fun little recycling set up

Fun little recycling set up

IMG_4448

Love these arches

Love these arches

High ropes course

High ropes course

IMG_4452

Interesting building

Interesting building

IMG_4455

Ice skating

Ice skating

IMG_4459 IMG_4460

Awesome moon kids play place

Awesome moon kids play place

Kate showing us her placemat =)

Kate showing us her placemat =)

Our waitress brought us colored pencils to color our placemats.

Yummy Russian dinner (with "gerkins" as Kate calls them ;P )

Yummy Russian dinner (with “gerkins” as Kate calls them ;P )

One Comment leave one →
  1. October 1, 2013 12:32 pm

    Moving to the city! What a fun, new adventure! 🙂

Leave a Reply

