Skip to content

My first Russian haircut

September 17, 2013

It’s no secret that I have been needing a good trim for a while now. At least I think it’s pretty obvious. And it’s not because of split ends, because I almost never have split ends. In fact, that’s one thing that hairdressers always mention when they do my hair. Your hair is sooo healthy.  But, possibly due to the fact that about a month ago I ran out of one of my main hair styling products and can’t get it here in Russia, my hair has been lackluster and blah to say the least. Ok, the weather might also have something to do with it. But still…

So when at church on Sunday I was talking with two Russian ladies and I suddenly made the connection that the lady who was telling me she loved my hair was a hairdresser, I jumped at the chance to mention that I needed a good trim. She, through a translator, told me that she could come to the house on Tuesday. Well, Tuesday is my new day off so that was perfect-o for me. She told me her price (which is very reasonable, in fact, the cheapest I have paid to date), we set a time, exchanged numbers and that was it.

Then I really started thinking about it. Remember that one time when you had a hairdresser be so distracted during the entire cut that she forgot she had already cut one layer and she cut the next layer up to where that first layer was, so you had a whole section of hair that was missing in the middle of your head? Remember that one time when you had a hairdresser keep cutting the bottom crooked so she kept trying to fix it and she cut it waaaay shorter than you wanted and you wanted to cry? Remember that time when….

I’ve had about 4 really bad haircuts in my lifetime. Which, all things considered, maybe that’s not a lot.  But for me it’s a lot. So then I started worrying. Maybe she won’t understand how much I want cut off. Or that I just want all my layers trimmed. After all, even English speaking Americans seem to not understand what you want done from time to time.

Then I decided that oh well, whatever happens happens. It will grow out again and it’s not like I am trying to sell it this time or anything so if it gets wrecked, it will always grow back.

Thankfully Hannah was around to translate for me, just to make sure we were on the same page. And Tatyana did great. I could tell as she was cutting it that it seemed to be a really good cut. It reminded me of the only other haircut I have had overseas (that one was in London). The lady that time as well took a long time to cut really small sections and did a fabulous job as well.

And then she blow dried it and straightened it. And when she was finished I was so surprised. She hadn’t used a single product on my hair (ok, I did cringe a little when she straightened my hair with no heat protection, but one time can’t be terrible, I suppose) and yet she got it so smooth and straight with no frizz! I know that with this weather it won’t last long, but for now it looks great and I couldn’t be more pleased.

Pleased that I got a good cut at a great price, and pleased to know that I now have a hairdresser in Russia! Score.

I did my best to take some pics by holding the camera over my head and facing it towards the mirror, ha. Aren’t they fabulous? ;P lol.

_MG_3861

_MG_3864

_MG_3867

_MG_3868

_MG_3870

_MG_3874

4 Comments leave one →
  1. September 17, 2013 8:15 am

    Yay for a good haircut! 🙂

    • September 17, 2013 12:03 pm

      Yes and yay for finding a good hairdresser! I am so glad I took the chance and didn’t wait until I got all the way back to the US in Dec!

  2. September 18, 2013 5:48 am

    It doesn’t look like you have had any cut off. It’s still very long.
    I would love your hair.
    Do you like it straight or curly ?

    • September 18, 2013 10:39 am

      She didn’t cut a lot off, mostly just trimmed it. You know, I love it both ways. I don’t think I could choose one way over the other so I am glad I can do both! =)

Leave a Reply

