Skip to content

A must read

September 5, 2013

I know, I know, I have lots of trip pictures that I need to post. Eventually. Someday. Maybe. =) I have had a “picture overload” the past few days and I just don’t even want to look at pictures right now, much less wade through them to post a few.

But in the meantime, read this:

http://themillennialblog.com/002/life-outside-of-the-fishbowl

It’s so exciting to hear about people like this, around the world, serving God and changing the world for Him. And I couldn’t agree with the author more, missions trips absolutely do change people. I wish every single person in all of our churches had the chance to go overseas for at least a week. I think it would definitely change our churches!

Materialism…it’s sooo easy to see it in America after you have been to places like India for even just a few days.  And yet, it can be so hard  to eradicate from your life! It can be so frustrating to give everything over to God, and think that you are ok with that, only to days later find yourself longing for certain comforts and things that you think you “need.” SO frustrating.  Society around us keeps telling us that we need new, fun, pretty things and we tend to let it all get to us. I think that’s one thing that really stood out to me when I was in India. I didn’t see any of that. People had nothing and they were still happy. And in that setting, it was easy to think that we could be happy with nothing too. But put yourself back in modern society for a few days and those messages of consumerism start to affect you again. Those are the days when I feel the need to get back to a 3rd world country again for a while! My friend wants to go to Nepal next year and I so want to go with her. I have wanted to go to Nepal for a while now, and while I know it wouldn’t be easy there, I know it would be beneficial in a lot of ways.

I guess life just teaches us that no matter how many times we think we have conquered something in our lives, there is always the tendency for it to pop up again. =( It just makes Heaven sound so much sweeter, I guess. Someday we won’t have to worry about trying to constantly crucify our flesh and what a wonderful day that will be!

Read it and tell me what you think. =)

3 Comments leave one →
  1. September 5, 2013 2:20 pm

    Loved that blog post. It is so easy to slip back into the materialism once you’re back into your old routine. This was such a great reminder!

  2. September 9, 2013 5:51 pm

    Thanks for the article link. Very well-written and truthful! I sent it to several friends. Always a good reminder (one I needed lately). And I know no one else knows it, but “I got mentioned in your post!” lol Nepal, here we come! (Lord willing)

  3. September 12, 2013 1:44 am

    Glad you both enjoyed it and yes, you get mentioned a lot these days it seems, Barrie. =)

Leave a Reply

