Skip to content

Paris in the rain

August 25, 2013

Until about an hour ago it had been raining nonstop since midnight last night! I was closing my skylight windows (I am sleeping in the loft) just as it started raining! Talk about perfect timing. (I was literally locking the last one when I heard drops start falling on it!)

Today it’s been rainy and gloomy all day – just the kind of day to stay holed up inside and relax. I know, what kind of person goes to Paris and stays inside for practically the entire day? The kind of person who feels like she has been traveling nonstop for the past month and doesn’t really feel the need to go be a tourist today. =) All I did was “sleep in” (went to bed at 2:15 this morning) and then try and figure out how to walk all the way to the specific bus stop I need to find on Tuesday at 3 AM! After routing it and walking it (it will sure be fun to walk that entire way with luggage at 3 AM) I stopped by the local grocery story and bought food and ice cream for lunch before heading back here to eat it. You know you are getting old when you are excited to have a really awesome grocery store next to your apartment in Paris. =)

I literally did no sightseeing today, and I felt great about it! Lounging around our super cute apartment, listening to the church bells, and every now and then popping my head out the window to enjoy the view was fun – makes me feel like I live here.

Christy and her mom wanted to see the Louvre but I went last time I was here and didn’t feel the need to see it again so that’s why I just hung around here – not much to do in the rain anyways.

Anyways, it’s back to reality on Tues. =( I have been having so much fun! But it will be nice to be back in Russia too. I wish I had time for a quick trip back to Cali before heading to Russia. Actually I probably do have a few days before I start working again, but I better save the money for my trip home at Christmas.

Tomorrow shouldn’t have any rain so we should be good to go for heading up to the top of the Eiffel Tower and then over to Sacre Coeur afterwards, we’ll see.

As I sit here writing this, Christy is messaging me on facebook from Starbucks on the Champs-Elysees, guess she wants me to meet her at Notre Dame so I better run.

Here are a few pictures from last night.

_MG_3291

_MG_3297

_MG_3306

_MG_3308

_MG_3317

_MG_3358

_MG_3377

_MG_3392

_MG_3400

One Comment leave one →
  1. August 26, 2013 9:36 am

    Sounds so relaxing! And gorgeous! 🙂

Leave a Reply

