Skip to content

Camp chaos

August 5, 2013

We are only two days into this week and I am already more than reminded that I am on a mission field here. =) There are over 20 kids staying on the property here (guys in the backyard in tents and girls up in the dorm where I live) plus a small missions team that is here putting on a new roof during the same time. I don’t even know how many people are staying here right now, but it’s a LOT. Overcrowded might be too small of a word.

Anyways…during the midst of all of this, somehow our one shower up in the dorm started leaking water all over the floor. So now, Jan (one of the ladies from the team), myself and 9 girls are all using one bathroom that now slightly resembles a small wading pool. Taking showers has become the latest challenge. Well, taking showers and not getting your things soaked, to be more specific.

As I sat down to write this blog post, and multitask by also eating my breakfast (lots to do today), I started to open the pastry and discovered a small flying bug was trapped inside. Oh the joys of buying Russian-produced foods.  So it is with slight trepidation that I am now eating the second of my three pastries and hoping for the best.

Today is camp all day and then I go down to a local neighborhood at 8 PM to do a private lesson till 9:30.  Guess I better go get ready for this day…I am definitely looking forward to heading back out to do some more traveling after this week is over. Of course by then I might just want to sleep for a week!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. August 6, 2013 6:44 am

    bursting at the seams! what a good problem! minus the water thing.

  2. August 6, 2013 9:24 am

    I’d love to know how many people are actually there! lol Totally stinks about the water…in the midst of my shower on Friday, my power went off… I still had conditioner in my hair! Thankfully it came on about 20 minutes later and I was able to finish getting ready. None of my clothes got very wet though. 😉

    • August 6, 2013 11:53 am

      That stinks about the conditioner, wow. Glad it came back on for you! That would not have been fun. Remember that year at camp when we had to wash our hair with bottled water because the water “mysteriously” ran out? lol.
      I counted 39 people that I saw/could think of today. (most of whom are sharing two bathrooms lol. yes, we have a shower schedule). I thought today I was going to have to take a cold shower since I was one of the last people and the water was cold when I got in. Thankfully it warmed up after a bit. Ahhh, life is an adventure over here and I am LOVING it! =) (such a fun day today, the kids make me smile!)

Leave a Reply

