Skip to content

Hollyhocks and graffiti

July 20, 2013

The other day as I was walking to a local private English lesson, I noticed these pink hollyhocks growing in a field of wildflowers, in front of a wall that had been colorfully graffitied. Of course graffiti jumps out to a photographer – it’s so colorful that it always makes a great backdrop for photography! (I would LOVE to do a photo session here with someone!) I knew right away that I had to come back soon to get some pictures (before the flowers died). There are so many beautiful flowers around here and I always tell myself I will bring the camera and get pictures of them, and then I forget. This time I was determined. I had the day off so I planned to head over at some point. Then I got a call yesterday from a girl wanting to meet me to see about private lessons. She lived in the exact neighborhood where the hollyhocks were! But it was raining all morning so I didn’t even bother bring my camera along to the meeting. I was a bit sad as I passed by without my camera. On the way home, however, it stopped raining! So after heading home, chatting with Hannah for an hour, and grabbing some lunch, I headed back out with my camera, and a bag just in case the dark clouds overhead opened back up (rainshowers can come out of nowhere around here and it can POUR!).

Thankfully I was able to get a bunch of photos and make it safely home before it started raining again. I really had to tromp through some high weeds and flowers and mud puddles to get these pics, but it was so much fun and definitely worth it. I just love Russia, it’s so fun for photography!

4 days till Barcelona! I won’t be able to post anything while I am gone, and due to the busyness that will greet me when I get back, I am not sure if I will get a chance to post anything before I leave again for Germany, Hungary, etc. But I will TRY! (Because if I don’t, you can bet that it will probably never happen!)

Some of the pics from today:

_MG_8977

_MG_8978

_MG_8982

_MG_9002

_MG_9004

_MG_9016

_MG_9021

_MG_9023

_MG_9024

_MG_9027

_MG_9034

I have to duck under several apple trees as I leave the house each day (now that I am taking a different path out of the backyard due to the dogs) and it had just rained so these apples were all wet.

IMG_8984

IMG_8986

IMG_8987

IMG_8988

IMG_8989

IMG_8990

IMG_8991

IMG_8992

IMG_8993

IMG_8996

IMG_9030

One Comment leave one →
  1. July 22, 2013 9:07 am

    I just love the hollyhocks and graffiti… such an anomaly. haha

Leave a Reply

