Skip to content

Царицыно (Tsaritsyno)

April 30, 2013

Yesterday a bunch of us went to the park and palace at  Tsaritsyno. One of the girls here had told me “it’s just a park,” so I wasn’t expecting much. But when we got there, I was overwhelmed. It was gorgeous and most everything hasn’t even bloomed yet. I can’t imagine what it will look like when all the trees are leafy again and all the tulips are blooming (there were LOTS of tulip plants, but no flowers yet.) I am definitely planning to go back there when I get back to Russia in June. Tsaritsyno is just two metro stops up from where I catch the metro at Domodedovoskaya so it’s fairly close to us (after I take the bus 40 minutes to get to the metro haha).

Here are just a few of the many pictures I took yesterday (or that were taken of me):

Tsaritsyno 003

Tsaritsyno 010

Tsaritsyno 017

The fountains were so fun. The water was so pretty, and there was piped in music playing – it was so peaceful and you could hear it all over the park.

Tsaritsyno 024

Tsaritsyno 029

Tsaritsyno 072

Tsaritsyno 075

Tsaritsyno 100

Tsaritsyno 114

Tsaritsyno 105

Tsaritsyno 112

Tsaritsyno 115

Catherine the Great’s palace – that she never lived in.

Tsaritsyno 121

Tsaritsyno 182

Tsaritsyno 194

I can’t wait to see all of this GREEN! =)

Tsaritsyno 260

It was such a nice day that we had to get ice cream. The brown thing is some Russian dessert that Vera made.

Tsaritsyno 234

Tsaritsyno 230

Tsaritsyno 246

I thought the spiky arch was interesting

After Tsaritsyno and after Joel, Hannah, and Michelle finished teaching, we all went to Moscow to celebrate Joel’s birthday. We went to the mall that has several different food options and I decided to try a Turkish place. I am so glad I did because it was so yummy and made me feel like I was back home. =) I will definitely be eating there again (кебаб хаус/ Kebab House).

turkish food 003

It was such a fun day!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 30, 2013 2:19 pm

    That park is gorgeous!

    • May 1, 2013 8:26 am

      Yes, it is. I love it! And apparently there are lots like it around Moscow. I’ll have to go find them all when I get back!

Leave a Reply

