Skip to content

Selling God’s car?

April 15, 2013

The other day my mom told me that she had received a notice saying that my CA auto registration was going to be suspended if I didn’t start paying for auto insurance soon. I had paid my yearly registration fees back in Oct when they were due, since I was going to need to drive my car until the beginning of Feb and didn’t see any other way around it. But I cancelled my auto insurance beginning in Feb since I wasn’t going to drive the car. I hadn’t been able to register the car non-operational since I still needed to drive it for a few months, and would also add insurance back on for a few weeks in May when I would be home and driving it.

So now I am paying registration AND insurance on a car I am not driving.

I had thought about selling the car way back when I first decided to come to Russia. I figured if I was going to be gone for a few years, I might as well sell it while I could get more for it. But back then I wasn’t sure how long I would be gone, so I decided to not hassle with trying to sell it, and just hang on to it. I still don’t know how long I will be gone for, but I am hoping that God lets me stay here for a few years. Who knows what His plan is. 

I still don’t know if I should sell it or not. I love my car. It’s my first (and only) brand new car. The car that had 3 miles on it when I first test drove it, and had seven miles when I signed the papers and drove it off the lot. The car that I couldn’t believe I was really buying. The car I paid off less than a year later, so it was really mine. 

Except, it’s really God’s. And I have always known that.

It was God’s when it got scratched at a youth car wash. It was God’s when I parked next to a minivan at church and got another long scratch on it (no place is safe to park on Sunday nights in the summer at my church, ha.) And it was God’s every single time I picked up bus kids, or drove it full of junior highers who slammed the doors and spilled ice cream cones (that yes, I bought for them, so it’s my fault) or snacks.

It was always God’s, He gave it to me, so I was ok with all the dents and scratches, even though they made me sad.

So it really shouldn’t be hard to sell it, if He wants me to. I just wish I knew what the future held. If I knew He would let me go from here to another country, then another, then clearly I wouldn’t need a car for a very long time. But if He did send me back to the states, then keeping a brand new, very low mileage car that is already paid for makes a lot of sense.

I absolutely love, love, love that car. It’s not fancy, but it’s the very car I wanted and it’s my first brand new car. I never planned to buy another new one again. I hoped it keep it for a very long time.

But if I sold it I could use that money to go help missionaries if I lived someplace where I couldn’t work. So…dilemmas, dilemmas.

Just thinking out loud here. Still not sure what to do with it. My heart wants to keep it. =)

But I am sure God will show me what to do when/if the time comes to say goodbye.

Sniff.

It’s ridiculous how sentimental I get. It’s a car.

 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 15, 2013 8:24 am

    I get sentimental about cars too. We have decided not to sell our Jeep for now, but when we were trying to sell it, I tried not to think of it since it made me so sad. Totally understand the sentimental attachment. 🙂 I’ll pray God shows you the next step!

Leave a Reply

