Skip to content

It’s snowing again!

February 18, 2013

Hi friends (is anyone even reading this?),

As of today I have now been here for two weeks! I have experienced so much already, and have had so much fun. I still can’t believe that I am really in Russia. Well, I can, until I stop and really think about it.

Today it’s snowing again – even though weather.com says we have clear skies and no forecast of snow, ha! I love watching snowflakes falling from the sky, it’s so peaceful and pretty and almost mesmerizing.

snow1 004-001

snow1 008

snow1 009

See the one snowflake in the middle? (It’s sideways)

snow1 012

snow 011

snow 016

snow 020

snow 021

The freshly falling snowflakes remind me of dandelion fluff – they are that soft. (They are also sticky)

I hope this means that it’s warmer outside now and that it will melt all the icy pathways around here. I am so thankful that I haven’t fallen on the ice yet! On Saturday I walked 8 miles to and from the school (4 miles each trip) and almost the entire route was covered in ice. I find it completely crazy that people just walk on this stuff. I have seen people slip, but I haven’t seen anyone fall yet! I keep wanting to bring my camera and record the entire trip to school so you can see what I am talking about! But I am afraid then I would fall and damage the camera, or not see as clearly when I am walking, and then fall. I have never been so happy to see random patches of black pavement before! Safe spots!

So at least now the snow will cover the ice. As long as it doesn’t get super cold and all freeze over again. =(

Anyways, things are going good here so far. No “real” job lined up yet. Just subbing at Hannah’s school. Her boss actually wants me to work more hours there but right now I am still holding out for a better job. If I can get a main job in Moscow a couple days a week, then I can fill in the gaps with teaching at Hannah’s school if I want.

I just realized the other day that my birthday is in about 3 weeks! Crazy. Hannah’s birthday is next month as well, and neither she nor Michelle have ever been to London so we are thinking about flying there for a weekend next month. If we do, I am hoping this means I can finally get to Oxford and Kew Gardens! I’d kinda been hoping to get over to Kiev, Ukraine, but I don’t think I will be able to convince anyone to go with me, so London is fine. I never get tired of London.

I cooked my first meal here the other day – found a recipe online and then totally improvised as I went along. Michelle can cook without recipes and it turns out great, but I need at least a starting point. And thank goodness for recipes online since I didn’t bring my recipe book with me. Using ingredients that you can’t read, using an oven that uses Celsius, and substituting and adding ingredients as you go makes for an interesting experiment. Thankfully it did end up tasting good. Maybe I will come home a better cook. If having to cook like this, and having to walk for miles on sheer ice in 7 degree weather doesn’t  make this California girl a stronger woman then there is no hope for me!

Last night I wanted a snack and so went to get the milk I had bought. When I poured it on the cereal, it was yellow. I was so surprised to see it. I ate it anyways and it was pretty good! Ira tells me that it’s vanilla milk, but not 100% milk. I am not sure what else it is (google translate says it’s a vanilla dairy drink) but it tastes good so I think I will keep buying it. Yay for “milk” that I can drink! (Milk in the states has upset my stomach ever since I got sick in Greece, but so far this stuff hasn’t affected me!)

russia 019

After eating this cereal for a few days, I decided to try and read the box.

cereal 002

cereal 003

The entire thing is in Russian. Except for the bottom of one side that says “Twentieth Century Fox Film Corporation. All rights reserved.”???? Fox is making cereal in Russia?

cereal 004

Tomorrow I am heading into Moscow to meet up with Rachel (a friend of a friend who I haven’t yet met in person) and then I have an interview in the afternoon. Hoping the weather is nice!

Hope you all are doing well. =)

7 Comments leave one →
  1. michellemajor2013 permalink
    February 18, 2013 5:55 am

    I think it’s so funny that you can just “pop” over to London for a weekend.Are flights expensive.?.
    I didn’t know you were sick in Greece.
    Are you going to St Petersburg ?

    • February 18, 2013 6:05 am

      Well…for European flights, yes, I think it’s expensive. I found a flight for $301.00. My flight from Moscow to Sweden is only costing $150.00 – so $300 seems like a lot. But for me to fly to London from LA would cost me at the very least $900.00 so…in that case this is cheap. =)
      Yeah, the very last night in Greece I ate a gryo at that place around the corner from our hotel and it made me sick =(. Even since then I haven’t been able to drink milk – it’s the weirdest thing!

      Hopefully I will make it to St. Petersburg, yes. =)

  2. michellemajor2013 permalink
    February 18, 2013 6:02 am

    Oh And by the way, In australia we work in celcius and kilometers.
    So if you want to know anything about temperatures whilst cooking let me know.
    Good luck with the interview

  3. February 18, 2013 9:53 am

    Wow, cooking sounds like an fun and interesting experience. (I can’t believe I just called cooking “fun”). And now I’m curious about vanilla dairy milk. In my mind, it’s similar to vanilla creamer! haha. Those sidewalks sound dangerous!

    • February 18, 2013 10:14 am

      The sidewalks ARE dangerous! It’s honestly crazy to me – I can’t believe people just walk on them as if it’s no big deal. I am like walking really carefully the whole time haha – carefully choosing each step. The sidewalks do get scraped from time to time, but not the parking lots and stuff that we walk through to take shortcuts…
      I don’t think it’s creamer haha, it’s not that thick. I am so glad to have discovered it though. I think the one nice thing about not being able to read a lot of the labels – at least beyond the basic word here or there – is that I am trying a lot of things that I might not otherwise and discovering that I like them! (If I could read them I might think “eww, I won’t like that” haha.

  4. February 18, 2013 10:41 am

    Yikes! Be careful! 🙂

    Hahaha, I can see how not knowing what the labels say would encourage you to try new things. 🙂

Leave a Reply

