Skip to content

So blessed

February 15, 2013

You know those moments where you feel like you are living in a dream? That’s what I keep feeling like here.
Russia is not where I would have chosen to live, had I been given my choice of any European country to live in. And yet I am so thankful that God put me here! I am loving it. I know I haven’t even been here 2 weeks yet, so maybe that sentiment will change, but for now I am having a great time! Things are definitely different here, and things do take much longer to accomplish, so I can see how those things will be a frustration in the future. But for now I am simply enjoying it all.

Ever since I went to London for the first time in 2007, I have thought it would be fun to live someplace where I could use the metro in my daily commute. For me the metro represents fun, since I am always on vacation when I use it. So just riding the metro here is fun. Even when it means being completely squished in a sea of bodies. (That won’t be fun in the summertime, I can tell already!) Sometimes you are just pushed by the mass of people, so much that you can’t really control where you are headed once inside the car. People weren’t kidding when they said the metro is crowded here! I have never used a more crowded metro anyplace I have ever been.

People had also told me it was the deepest metro in the world (built during WWII to also be used as a bomb shelter I believe), but until my interview the other day I hadn’t encountered any of the “steep” parts. Then I had to get off at Prospekt Mira and discovered what they had been talking about. I wanted to turn around and look down as I was riding up the escalator, but was afraid I’d get too dizzy so I didn’t try. The escalators here run very fast (it’s funny to get on the escalator later at the mall, it feels SO slow!) and since it was so steep I was afraid I might fall if I turned around to look.

There is just so, so, SO much I keep wanting to say. I feel like I am way behind in blogging, even though I have been able to post almost every day. I feel overwhelmingly blessed to be here, and I really hope that I continue to feel that way in the next few months!

Here are a few pics from yesterday. Hannah kept wanting me to climb on these big snow piles to take pictures. I think she wanted to see me fall in all the way to my neck, but thankfully I never did. =)

moscow 180

This doesn’t look very high but it actually is

moscow 187

moscow 188

2 Comments leave one →
  1. February 15, 2013 10:36 am

    Your boots and coat are so adorable! And it makes me laugh that this was my first thought after reading through the post. lol 🙂

    • February 15, 2013 8:05 pm

      Haha thanks. Those boots and coat were my best purchases! We have been walking ALL over Russia it seems, and the boots are comfy so I am glad to have them. Women are all walking around in stilettos (they are crazy, the sidewalks are completely ICE!) and I am trudging along in my warm boots, haha. I don’t even care!

Leave a Reply

