Skip to content

Update #2

February 11, 2013

The continuation of the last post:

 

I wasn’t really sure what to expect when I went to Moscow for my interview. To be honest, I wasn’t even sure if it was going to be an interview. I had been contacted by a lady from an agency and she asked when I could stop by. She didn’t say anything about an interview, but that’s what it ended up being. She and I, along with a man, went into a small, very warm interview room, while Hannah and Michelle waited in the waiting room (also very hot).

It was a very interesting interview. I had heard that everyone in Russia dislikes and distrusts Baptists (for completely false “reasons”) and that started coming out in the interview. They asked me a lot of questions. At one point near the end, the man (who is from Canada) leans closer and says knowingly, I know your church. My sister-in-law goes to your church. Lighthouse Baptist in California? I know that church.

I was a bit taken aback and asked him what her name was. He told me “Oxana.” I told him there definitely wasn’t any Oxana at our church, nor any Russians for that matter (he said she was Russian.) Then I told him that there are several Lighthouse Baptists in California, so it must be a different one. Then he proceeded to tell me that bad things happen at Baptist churches. As an example of the bad things that happen in Baptist churches he told me that his sister-in-law told him about a couple who went in for marriage counseling because the husband beat the wife, and the priest told them to stay together.

He was very adamant and a little intimidating, and almost mysterious.

There were other funny and interesting moments from that day, but that’s all that my tired brain can think of at the moment.

 

The position is one that I would definitely be interested in, but the next step is for them to forward my resume on to the family and if they are interested then I will go with the woman to a second interview at the father’s office. Due to the length of commute (took us 4 hours round trip to get there and back) this position would be perfect because it’s only 3 hours twice a week, with two young boys. Which would mean two 7 hour days. (Crazy to think that I would spend more time commuting than working) And it pays enough to make it worth it, which is especially nice.

Just got an email from another company with a similar offer, but for a teen and her mother. Same pay, but would have to travel up there 3 days a week instead of two.

Praying that God just works out the best position for me.

So many people have contacted me about private lessons, but due to how long it would take me to get to most of their places, it isn’t worth it for just an hour here or there. Even if they are paying decent money per hour, you have to count all the travel time and cost as well.

So finding the perfect position is a challenge, but I didn’t expect to find something the first week anyways. =)

 

I’ll keep you guys updated!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. February 11, 2013 11:02 am

    Job offers, wow! That’s really funny about the whole “baptist” thing. Especially since he said “priest.” 😀

    Good luck on your job hunt!

    • February 12, 2013 3:57 am

      Haha I know huh? I told him, “well, we don’t have priests.” He said “well, whatever you call them. I am Catholic so we call them priests.” lol.
      Thanks!

Leave a Reply

