Skip to content

Living by Faith?

February 1, 2013

One of my favorite stories is about George Mueller and his orphanage that he started to prove that God could provide his needs without asking anyone for help. One online article I read says, “When God put it into the heart of George Muller to build these orphanages, he had only two shillings (50 cents) in his pocket. Without making his wants known to any man, but to God alone, over a million, four hundred thousand pounds ($7,000,000) were sent to him for the building and maintaining of these orphan homes. When the writer first visited them, near the time of Mr. Muller’s death, there were five immense buildings of solid granite, capable of accommodating two thousand orphans. In all the years since the first orphans arrived the Lord had sent food in due time, so that they had never missed a meal for want of food.”

How awesome is that?

I want my faith to be as strong as Mr. Mueller’s faith was! When things are going well it is easy to have faith like that, but when trials come, I seem to be so quick to pick back up those worries and wonder how things will be taken care of. And yet I know from reading my Bible that my God can do anything and that I have nothing to worry about, regardless of the situation. How blessed I really am! My Heavenly Father created this entire world, so taking care of me is easy for Him. I hope that at the end of my life I can look back and say that I lived more by faith than by sight. It’s not always easy, but yet, it really should be. Shouldn’t it? I want my faith to be big enough that I can take my needs to God alone and not feel that He needs my help in publishing them to the world. This is something I have been thinking about a lot lately. Is it really faith in God to put your financial, etc needs up on a social networking site but then add something like “but I am trusting God to work it out/take care of it/provide it”  at the end?

Is that really faith?

To me it seems that any good friend would naturally want to help out if they knew of a need (I know I would), but then is it really faith? I am not saying it’s wrong to ask for help or to just mention that you have a need, but is it truly faith then?

I don’t think that if George Mueller had a facebook account he would have been touting his strong faith in God while asking for help. I don’t know if I am correct in my thoughts or not, but I just keep thinking that real faith trusts God to provide miraculously. I know that in my own life it’s sure a lot more fun to bring my needs before God and then watch the amazing ways that He provides for me! I think that if I wrote on facebook that I was having a hard time paying my bills, that surely some friends would help. But it seems that for me to say I truly have faith that God will provide, I would take my requests to Him alone. I know that God often does use other Christians to meet our needs. But it seems to me that God gets more glory when we give Him the chance to work.

Thoughts? Am I correct in thinking this or no?

Just a few favorite verses I have been thinking about lately:

Psalm 121:1-2 I will lift up mine eyes unto the hills, from whence cometh my help. My help cometh from the Lord, which made heaven and earth.

Psalm 145:16-17, 19-20 Thou openest thine hand, and satisfiest the desire of every living thing. The Lord is righteous in all his ways, and holy in all his works. He will fulfil the desire of them that fear him: he also will hear their cry, and will save them.  The Lord preserveth all them that love him: but all the wicked will he destroy.

Psalm 37:25 I have been young, and now am old; yet have I not seen the righteous forsaken, nor his seed begging bread.

Psalm 107:8-9  Oh that men would praise the Lord for his goodness, and for his wonderful works to the children of men! For he satisfieth the longing soul, and filleth the hungry soul with goodness.

Luke 12:7 But even the very hairs of your head are all numbered. Fear not therefore: ye are of more value than many sparrows.

Those of us who call God our father can live boldly and with faith that He is in control and that He can take care of us no matter what the situation! *Praying  that I will remember this no matter what I face in the future!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. February 1, 2013 10:15 am

    I think your thoughts are correct. Most Christians, especially in America, have no concept of true, deep faith. Faith in the aspect of trusting God to provide, etc. They obviously have faith in His sacrifice for them, but overall our faith is so shallow! At least, I know mine is.

    • February 1, 2013 1:29 pm

      Yeah, I feel like there is so much we are missing out on here just because we choose to settle for less…lots to think about. =)

Leave a Reply

