Skip to content

The unemployed life

January 28, 2013

привет!

My visa arrived safely last Friday, which was also my last day of work. Even the heavens were crying with me as I left for my exit interview, turned in my parking pass, key, and staff ID, and drove off of campus for “the last time.” It was a weird feeling. My coworkers were so sweet and thoughtful though with their kind words, prayers, and gifts (one even gave me $100.00 which was such a blessing!). I will miss them all so much, but know I will be back to visit. In fact, I went back just today for a lunch on campus for another coworker who is leaving! It was weird having to look for visitor parking (which was all taken) – I had to call campus safety to make sure they wouldn’t give me a ticket for parking without a sticker.

After lunch, and then tea with my Russian “tutors,” it was off to Pinkberry to use one of the gift cards a coworker had given me. I tell you, unemployment is rough. 😉

But this morning I did make some progress on trip plans. I stopped by AT&T and bought a phone charger and then spent half an hour on the phone with them trying to get this iPhone unlocked. Unbelievable, right? Jen who said she’d never use an iPhone.

I didn’t buy it. It’s my brother’s old phone. It was just sitting in his drawer. The missionaries kept saying it would be a good idea to bring one. Now I have to figure out how to use it!

I always end up eating my words, one way or another.

After unsuccessfully trying to get the phone unlocked (Boo. They will keep working on it though and let me know), I booked my flight to Sweden! I have to leave Russia on May 3rd, so I will fly straight to Stockholm (via Kiev) and then spend a week with my friend there. Haven’t booked the next leg of the trip (Ireland) though, but hope to get that wrapped up this week as well. Who knows what will happen after that, but right now the plan is to come back to the States for at least a few weeks. We shall see what happens. =)

It feels really weird spending money right now with no more income coming in. All of me wants to just save every penny for the future, and yet at the same time I want to maximize my time in Europe and do as much traveling as I can since this really is the best time to do it. If I find a job over there then that will make me feel better about doing some traveling while there. But seriously though, I can fly around Europe for much cheaper than flying around the US! So it only makes sense to do it if the opportunity arises!

My brother is so helpfully counting down all the “lasts” for me. This is the last day that you will do____. Last night was the last night at Jeff and Miriam’s house for their Sunday night get-togethers. They are such a blessing to our church and I will miss them! But I keep telling everyone that since I will most likely be back in May for at least a few weeks, I’m not really saying “goodbye,” just “see you later.” It makes it so much easier that way.

Well, that’s all the rambling today – my thoughts are always so jumbled these days that it’s really hard to put together a coherent blog post! I’m off to do some more packing and make dinner!

пока!

One Comment leave one →
  1. January 29, 2013 10:09 am

    Aaaahhh! The official start of your adventure!

    Makes me smile to think of you with an iphone. My day is coming, just probably not for a while. I’ll pray that they get it unlocked for you soon. 🙂

Leave a Reply

