Skip to content

The leaf skeleton

January 1, 2013

Happy first day of 2013! I can’t believe another new year is here already. 2012 flew by, as they all seem to do these days. I feel so incredibly thankful when I think about all of the blessings and adventures of 2012. Truly God has blessed me! I am so undeserving, and yet so thankful for His mercy and grace and love. I can’t wait to see what excitement 2013 holds!

Yesterday I was in a cooking mood, and today I was in a photography (and baking) mood, so I finally got around to snapping some shots of this fun leaf that my mom found (or rather, it found her).

It’s basically just a leaf skeleton and I have never seen one so perfectly intact before. The entire framework of tiny veins is all there, making it feel lacy and delicate.

leaf 119

leaf 118

Holding it up to the bright sun

leaf 115

leaf 113

Love the way it looks like it’s floating while sitting on the table

leaf 092

leaf 084

leaf 081-001

leaf 004

Love the lacy shadow

leaf 008 leaf 016

It was such a gorgeous day today, I couldn’t resist snapping a few pictures of the pretty leaves still left on the trees.

leaf 045

Proof that we still have fall color into January here in So Cal. People always look at me skeptically when I tell them that. And yes, the entire back lawn is covered in dying leaves. =)

leaf 052

leaf 041

The pop of bright green and yellow leaves poking out from between all the pine trees surprised me as I walked by. Apparently there’s another tree in the middle of all of this.

I hope you all have a wonderful 2013!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. January 2, 2013 7:13 am

    I love those beautiful leaf pics! 🙂 Happy New Year!

  2. January 18, 2013 2:42 pm

    Oh my, I hope you won’t be sad that I finally got around to doing my yard work and that “volunteer” mulberry is now removed! 🙂 Love, Mom

Leave a Reply

