Skip to content

My weekend

December 18, 2012

Whew, lots happened this weekend. It was a lot of fun, but felt like a whirlwind – one that I am still catching up from.

On Saturday I took pictures for a friend, and that was a lot of fun! She made it super easy for me. I had been hoping we’d get at least a few good shots for her to choose from, and instead, I think she looked fabulous in ALL of them. (Any that weren’t fabulous were my fault).  I can’t wait to post a few for you guys to see. I am having a really hard time choosing my favorites, I like them all, but hopefully in a day or two I’ll find some time to post some.

Then after I finished up with the pictures, I ran home, grabbed my things, and headed north to my friend’s house for the weekend.

Oooh, but in between finishing up pictures and leaving, my brother gave me his old Canon Rebel that he’d let me borrow for the pics – as an early bday present! How awesome is that? I was super excited and it was really sweet of him. Made my day, on top of an already fun day of shooting in downtown Pasadena. I’m so excited to finally have a DSLR!!! Look out, Russia. ;P

Probably one of the most newsworthy things that happened this weekend, in case you didn’t hear, was that Spider-man and Barbie got married. You’d think I’d learn by now that my camera should be with me at all times so as to not keep missing such momentous occasions. But alas, I have no photographic evidence of it.  However, the vision of Spider-man, arms raised in celebration, driving off with Barbie in her pink convertible, will forever stay in my mind’s eye. =) I’m glad I was at least there to witness the event.

I also learned an interesting new definition for the word “hippie,” got to experience the awesomeness that is Handy Dandy’s ice cream parlor (it’s a well-kept secret so I can’t divulge it’s location, sorry), and laughed enough to work off any food I ate the entire weekend.

Oh, and last but not least, I also crossed #52 off of my bucket list. When I added that to my list a while ago, I didn’t give much thought to the fact that I would actually need someone to help  me accomplish that one. I didn’t give much thought to it at all. Until I was getting ready to go to Italy last year and almost lined up blind dates for my friend and I in Rome. Sadly she was not in favor of the idea, so it didn’t end up happening. So when another friend told me she’d found one for me, she knew I couldn’t refuse it. (Sneaky) But she was right, I couldn’t. And it was nice of her to help me out, even if I later wondered why on earth I had agreed.

Two tips for blind dates if it’s on your bucket list:

1. Try to get some sleep the night before (ie, don’t let your friend’s cat terrorize you half the night*. Go sleep in the car or something, but get some sleep. I think it would help.

2. Try not to bite the tip of your tongue so hard that it bleeds while you are eating out on that blind date. It makes for great laughs later, but no so much at the moment it occurs. And also, it really hurts. (Two days later it will still hurt!)

That night after we all got back home, my friend’s 6 year old daughter asked me, “how was your date?” I told her it was fine and then she said, “I heard he can’t see.” I asked her where she’d heard that and she said, “Mommy. Mommy said he’s blind.”** Made us laugh. Actually, she made us laugh all weekend. Love those girls!

I can’t believe this is my last week of work until the new year! With taking yesterday off, today’s staff and faculty Christmas party all morning long, Friday’s departmental Christmas party all morning and then getting off half day on Friday…this week is flying by!

I can’t believe 2012 is almost over.  It has really been such a fabulous year. I hope 2013 is at least half as good as this year was!

*I have a newfound wariness of cats now.

** For anyone else who might not get it, she just assumed he was blind when she heard the words “blind date.” I thought that was obvious but maybe not. ;P

5 Comments leave one →
  1. December 18, 2012 7:06 pm

    Tip #2 made me chuckle out loud!

    • December 19, 2012 9:54 am

      =) Yeah we laughed about it a lot later as well, but it was kinda awkward at the moment. =)

  2. December 19, 2012 8:10 am

    Oooh! Can’t wait to hear all about it. Hahaha….laughter is always a commodity around a certain super fun individual. Looks like her daughter might be following in her footsteps. 🙂

  3. December 19, 2012 8:10 am

    Oh, and that’s SUPER exciting about the camera!!!!!

    • December 19, 2012 9:54 am

      Yes, it is exciting! I wish I could find some time to go play with it some more!

Leave a Reply

