Skip to content

Things I think about late at night (when I should be sleeping)

December 11, 2012
tags: ,

1. What’s the scariest thing I have ever done? I used to answer that question with “skydiving.” Now? Oh, just quitting my job in a really bad economy, with no sure job lined up for the future. Who does that? Only a crazy person, that’s who. I guess I am a crazy person then, ha. Because the details for a job in Russia? Sketchy.* And slowly evaporating before my eyes. Or so it seems. Normally I would be a bit panicked right now. Or completely freaking out. I mean, I have worked steadily since I was sixteen. Since a week before I turned sixteen, if we want to get technical about it. I have never not had a job since that day! So to technically not have a job lined up for 7 weeks from now is a weird feeling for me.

BUT…My God owns the entire universe, so I’m not going to worry about that. Because He can provide ANYTHING. And to be honest, living like this is exciting. (I know, since when did I become an adrenaline addict, right?) But seriously…I tend to be a dreamer and when you can dream about going ANYWHERE and doing ANYTHING, that’s pretty exciting for a dreamer, ha! 😉

*Due to unforeseen circumstances…and also, apparently it’s easy to find work once you get there. But getting there without a letter of invitation from a school first is another matter. I could just tell my job I am not quitting after all and just stay on. But, that’s kinda boring.

2. UGH, it’s so frustrating to watch my country continue to destroy herself one very bad decision after another. I want to stand on top of the Empire State Building and ask the nation “Are you really this stupid? Don’t you know history? Don’t you READ????”

Sigh. I’m 28 years old. That’s still pretty young, if you ask me. (Even though I feel like I’ve been around forever, ha. To be honest, I feel like I have lived a lot more than 28 years.) So when I stop and think about the fact that  28 years is not that many, and I have seen a lot of changes in America during my lifetime, I can only shudder when I think about the next 28. We seem to be picking up speed as we race headlong into our impending doom. So I don’t see a pretty picture waiting up ahead.
I used to wonder how a person like Hitler could sway an entire country to follow his idiotic ideas. I used to think that everyone had learned from that. Sadly, I don’t really wonder anymore. I feel like I am watching history repeat itself.

And also, it frustrates me that the lower class will always vote for someone who will promise to take away from the “rich” to give to them. How long do they think that will last? How long until everyone is down at their level? Because taking money from people who do well managing their money and making wise financial decisions and it giving to people who don’t know how to manage their money and who waste it on booze and drugs is never going to make us a better, more stable economy. Why don’t people get that?

Sometimes I wish this next generation would pull out their earbuds, look up from their phones, turn off the tv and grab a HISTORY BOOK and READ!!! And get SMARTER, not DUMBER. I think my blood pressure just rose a little bit while writing that. Sigh.

My God is in control though. I have to remember that. Even when it irritates me to no end to see people being stupid and making stupid decisions that they don’t have to make. I know God is in control and He doesn’t need my help running my country. But it still bugs me to see ignorant people taking their ignorance to the polls.

See why I can’t sleep at night? Because I start thinking about stuff like this. I think my brain is seriously nocturnal and wants to sleep during work time and then wake up and stay up all night solving all the world’s problems, or at least stressing over what I can’t do about any of it.

 

3 Comments leave one →
  1. December 13, 2012 9:21 am

    I also have to keep reminding myself that God is in control. That would probably help me fall asleep faster! Then I don’t have to join you in solving the world’s problems. haha

    • December 13, 2012 11:04 am

      Yeah, it’s nice to know that God is in control. I feel SO incredibly blessed when I realize that He can take care of me no matter WHERE I am, or what is going on. Too many times I try to figure things out on my own, and get frustrated when I can’t. It’s much more peaceful to just put it all in God’s hands and let Him work it all out. For a “planner” like me, that’s hard to do, but I am learning. =)

  2. December 16, 2012 7:00 am

    I’m going to comment in reverse order…
    2. Whenever I think of the social, economic, and political problems of the U.S.A. I always think of this verse, Ecclesiastes 1:15 “That which is crooked cannot be made straight: and that which is wanting cannot be numbered.” And then, not that it pertains to your post, but that verse always makes me think of conspiracy theories too. The issues that America is facing and the way people are dealing with them can definitely be frustrating. I think the best thing we can do is be the salt and light of this world, affecting change in those around us and trying to punch holes in the darkness.
    1. I am so exciting about everything that you are doing, you are going to do great.

Leave a Reply

