Skip to content

Random thoughts…

November 26, 2012
tags:

There have been so many random and completely unrelated thoughts going through my head these past few days*. I keep getting caught up in the busyness of life and then out of the blue something will remind me that I only have 8 weeks left here in California, and suddenly my views on the day completely change. Remembering that I only have two months left here makes me appreciate the warmth of the sun against my skin just a little bit more, it makes me appreciate my family, my routine, my church, my closet full of clothes, my car and all the local American restaurants and stores just a little bit more. I try to appreciate these things every day, but knowing I will be saying goodbye to all of it soon makes me even more appreciative of it all.

I am so, so excited to start a new adventure! But it all still seems so surreal. (Probably not yet having a visa helps the whole idea seem a bit improbable.) Who knows what will happen with my visa, but I’m not worried. I know God is in control of my future and He will work things out in whatever way He sees fit. I feel so, so blessed. God has been so good to me! Whatever He has in store will be amazing. =)

*Random thoughts:

1. I really hope the lady at United is correct that I don’t have to go through customs and recheck my luggage in Brussels. Really, really hope!

2. I’m really glad my dad taught me to be smart with my money, and how to save. I’m constantly amazed at how poorly people handle their finances and live paycheck to paycheck just because they don’t know how to be disciplined and save! Why do people buy things they don’t need and then complain that they have no money??

3. I just love it when I get carded when buying medicine. I hope they still do it when I am 90. ;P

4. Eek! I need to brush up on English grammar rules!!

5. Sigh, I wish I could figure out all these confusing Russian cases/tenses so I could unlock the mystery of all these endings!

6. I really need to get back to a third world country asap, all this holiday advertising is starting to get to me and I don’t need ANY of this stuff!

7. Why do I always say the wrong thing at the perfectly wrong time? This is one skill I’d like to turn back in! =/

8. I’m so thankful that God loves me ‘cuz I’m pretty sure if I was God I wouldn’t love me!!

9. So next year I want to go to Ireland, Sweden, Israel, Italy, Greece, the Czech Republic, St. Petersburg, Austria, Switzerland, Hungary, Norway, Germany, Georgia, Azerbaijan…etc…Oh wait, I’m supposed to be working sometime too…=/ Ahhhh the possibilities!

10. When I come back everyone will be older and things will have changed. Sigh. Why can’t life just freeze while we are gone??

11. I’ve been wandering around the house for 3 months now muttering Russian words to myself and mom just now tells me I sound like a crazy person. Why couldn’t she have told me earlier? I didn’t know people could hear me. Ha.

12. What am I going to pack? How am I going to fit all this stuff? I think this alone is going to make me go crazy. 😉

Life…always busy, always interesting, and never boring, that’s for sure!! I probably won’t be doing any better at blogging in the next few weeks than I have been all year, ha, but hopefully I will be a little better at it when I get to Russia. We’ll see. =)

11 Comments leave one →
  1. November 27, 2012 1:10 am

    haha many of your thoughts brought back memories of when I thought the same things, or similar! enjoy your time before you leave and don’t stress!

    • November 27, 2012 2:57 pm

      Yes, I am sure you have definitely thought some of the same things – especially when packing for so many different places/climates! =) I’m trying to remember to enjoy it and not stress – it comes and goes in spurts. =)

  2. Carol permalink
    November 27, 2012 1:49 am

    It’s so fun to read your random thoughts. I definitely recall thinking the second one a few times at the office 🙂

    Here we miss good, authentic Mexican food. It helps to bring spices! As for packing… that was really difficult for us as well. I looked at a lot of blogs with recommendations on what was easy to get, what was expensive, and so on.

    • November 27, 2012 2:59 pm

      Haha, yeah, we probably had some of these conversations while at work.=)
      I wish YOU had a blog so I could keep up with what you guys are doing over there!! I hope I am included in any updates you send out.
      Aww, I BET you miss Mexican food. I will, too. =(
      That’s a good idea about looking at blogs to see what is easy to get over there! Did you guys ship things or take it all with you?

      • Carol permalink
        November 28, 2012 8:10 pm

        We took it all with – 5 checked bags/boxes! I thought I had sent you links.. hmm. I will send those again!

  3. November 27, 2012 9:31 am

    I laughed outright at #11. lol I was just telling Matt the other day how much I’m going to miss chatting with you. Oh well. This probably just means 5+ emails a day. lol

    • November 27, 2012 3:01 pm

      Aww, I know. Emailing isn’t the same =( When we chat all day long, I always feel like we spent the day together haha. So it seriously feels like you aren’t that far away, since it seems like we talk about everything about our days! I will miss that, too. =( At least our time difference will only be 8 hours instead off 11 like CA. So maybe we will have some overlap time online where we can chat!

      • November 27, 2012 3:14 pm

        That would be totally awesome. 🙂

  4. November 27, 2012 5:08 pm

    9. [edit] and Patagonia! 😉
    I have some friends visiting switzerland next month on a survey trip. Pretty exciting. That’s a blessing about your finances. Its amazing how God’s financial plan always works best. I think when I was getting ordained and your dad was on the council he may have asked if I had debt! Thankfully I didn’t and I don’t.

    • November 27, 2012 5:17 pm

      Haha, yes, and Patagonia! (I was actually looking at a picture of a huge glacier in Patagonia on the Argentinian side today and dreaming haha- so cool!) But I don’t think I will be making any South American trips from Europe. Just cuz I’m going to try and maximize my location for travel – and flights/train ridesl within Europe are a lot cheaper if I am already there. But I’m sure I’ll eventually be down there to see you guys. =)
      Where in Switzerland are they headed? I’ve been there once (mostly Lucerne area) but I always want to go back!
      Haha, yeah I’m sure he did ask that. It IS neat to see how God works because I originally was saving to buy a house, and so now I have some funds set aside to be able to do this – and this is WAY more fun than a house. ;P

  5. November 29, 2012 11:20 am

    Thanks, Carol! I don’t remember any links…I will check my email and see.

Leave a Reply

