Skip to content

It’s almost Thanksgiving!!

November 20, 2012

We all know November as the month where everyone always starts thinking about all the things they are thankful for.
Really, as Christians, we should be thankful all year long. And indeed trying to focus on what you are thankful for really does change your perspective/mood/outlook on life.
I have so, so much to be thankful for.

These are just a few of them:

1. Salvation and a home in heaven. No matter how bad things get down here, this is not my permanent home and I am SO thankful. I can’t wait for the day when Christians from throughout history and around the world will gather around God’s throne and worship together!!

2. My family. In a world of broken homes, and “dysfunctional families” I am so thankful for my family. I am truly blessed and so thankful for each of them.

3. The peace and contentment that comes from knowing Christ. There is nothing else that brings such joy and peace.

4. Our amazingly beautiful world. There is just so much beauty in changing leaves, fluffy clouds, blue skies, golden sunsets, raindrops on flowers, green mountains, rushing rivers, cascading waterfalls and floating icebergs, to name a few. God has created a truly beautiful world for us to live in.

5. The amazing opportunities I have had to travel the world. I truly cherish each memory and look forward to many more opportunities to wander this unique planet. I love soaking in all of the cultures and sounds and sights from around the world. I have been so blessed and I don’t take any of it for granted.

6. Clean, drinkable water and all the kinds of yummy foods I like. There are so many countries in this world that do not have the easy access to clean water and good foods that we have here in America. I am truly thankful to God that I never have to go hungry, and even better that I get to eat food I LIKE.

7. Ira and Valery who are patiently teaching me Pусский (Russian).

8. My Bible. There are so many Christians around the world who do not have their own copy of a Bible, or even access to one. I am so thankful that I can read mine whenever I want. I can’t imagine not having a Bible! =(

9. Amazing friends and all the fun memories from over the years. I have been so, so blessed!!

10. Good health. Eyesight. Hearing. I can’t imagine not being able to see this beautiful world or hear beautiful music or laughter.

11. An amazing job that God dropped into my lap without me even looking for it. And also for great coworkers. I have been so blessed here these last 4+ years. I can’t believe I will be saying goodbye to them all in just a few months.

12. The incredible opportunity to go to Russia. It’s bigger than anything I had imagined and I am so excited.

There are so many things to be thankful for, this list could go on for a long time! God is so good to us!

Happy Almost Thanksgiving! =)

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

