Skip to content

Apple Pecan Cheesecake

November 5, 2012

The other day I was in the mood to try a new recipe – and actually had the time to do so! So I got out one of my favorite cookbooks (“Favorite Brand Name” recipe books are awesomeand started looking through it. And I seriously wanted to start baking all of it. It was a little ridiculous. Finally I settled on an apple pecan cheesecake just because it sounded really good.

And I must say it turned out really yummy. In fact, I can’t stop eating it.  I just might have eaten it for breakfast as well. ;P

Here’s the super easy recipe:

Ingredients:

2 packages (8 oz each) cream cheese, softened

2/3 cup sugar, divided*

2 eggs

1/2 teaspoon vanilla

1 (9 oz) prepared graham cracker crust

1/2 teaspoon cinnamon

4 cups Golden Delicious apples, peeled, cored, and thinly sliced (about 2/12 pounds apples)*

1/2 cup chopped pecans

Directions:

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees

2. Beat cream cheese and 1/3 cup sugar in large bowl with electric mixer at medium speed until well blended. Add eggs, 1 at a time, beating well after each addition.  Blend in vanilla; pour into crust.

3. Combine remaining 1/3 cup sugar and cinnamon in large bowl. Add apples; toss gently to coat. Spoon or arrange apple mixture over cream cheese mixture. Sprinkle with pecans.

4. Bake 1 hr and 1o mins or until set. Cool completely. Store in refrigerator.

Spooning the apples onto the cheesecake

Just out of the oven

First bite, mmmm

*This is not a super sweet dessert, so you might want to add more sugar if you want it really sweet. Because it’s not too sweet, I didn’t feel bad eating it for breakfast. 😉 And also, 2 1/2 pounds of apples was way too many! I had several apples I had peeled and was not able to fit in the cheesecake. So you might want to start with less, and peel as you go.

I think next time the only things I would change would be that I would probably drizzle caramel topping over it, and also serve with cinnamon whipped cream. I actually wanted to put caramel on it this time, but we didn’t have any in the house and I didn’t feel like going back to the store. =/ I would also probably make the graham cracker crust myself. I was trying to save time and didn’t feel like crushing all those graham crackers, but I think it would taste better if I had made it myself. But either way, it’s still yummy just the way the recipe calls for it to be made.

I’ll definitely be making this again!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. November 5, 2012 9:32 am

    That looks delicious!

    • November 6, 2012 11:26 am

      Mmmm, it is. Love this cookbook, everything I have made out of it has been yummy!

  2. November 12, 2012 11:49 pm

    looks A-mazing!!!! wish i had some. 🙂

Leave a Reply

