Skip to content

Just another Saturday…

October 20, 2012
tags:

Life has been flying by these days. I can’t believe it. I guess it’s because I have been so busy, and still have so much to do, and Jan 30th is coming very quickly!

Today I went out to the mall to get some makeup. I am running out of the basic things I use, and since I am starting to stock up on things to take with me to Russia, I figured I might as well go get some more makeup since I will  need it when I go. Nothing super exciting. Just expensive. I hadn’t been to the mall in forever and as I walked through Macy’s to get to MAC, I started remembering why I stay away from the mall – all the fun new boots and clothes started sucking me in. But I made it to MAC without buying anything else, and got the things I needed:

Big bag. Guess what’s inside?

Just eye primer and eye shadow. Overkill much?? The price is just as much overkill as the bag is, too! =/

I don’t know what led me to get my makeup done at MAC of all places, one day 3 years ago, but I did and the girl actually did a great job, so I still use the eye products she used that day (although I definitely stay away from the pore-clogging face makeup!)

Then on the way home I decided to splurge on something yummy and stopped by Cost Plus World Market (which is like a collision of all of my favorite things: America, Europe, food, all things shiny and sparkly and fun, and then some randomness thrown in on the side) to pick up some of this chocolate:

Yum!

I walked past the Caramel Swirl Pretzels on the way to the chocolate aisle and couldn’t resist. I am not a huge pretzel fan, to be honest. But you give me some yummy savory dip for them, or cover them in flavored yogurt and I can’t stop eating them! These are pretty good, in an addicting sort of way.

I told myself that the chocolate and pretzels were a reward for getting so much accomplished today. =) Besides, the pretzels are really for my family, I’m just helping them eat them. ;P

Last night I went to a fun, fancy dinner at work, so I missed game 5 of the NLCS. But my brother kept me updated by text, so I was still able to enjoy the dinner. ;P And of course my man Zito got it done for us. What a GREAT game. Of course I came straight home and watched all the highlights last night. Zito had said before the game that he wasn’t going to try and paint the corners like he had been earlier, but was just going to throw and rely on his defense and thankfully the defense came through in a big way last night. (The offense too.) The Giants have won the last 13 of Zito’s starts, so he’s got something going right. I just wish we could start him tomorrow, haha. 😉 My brothers say they aren’t going to let me watch tomorrow’s game since we keep losing all the games I watch, and win the ones I don’t watch.

In honor of the Giants’ big win last night, I wore these all morning:

They kept swinging in my ears and the pics were coming out blurry, so this worked better. =)

Things are still moving along for Russia…just got my “casual” coat in the mail this week:


My dressy black one came a few weeks ago.

And I got these boots just for fun:

I love the detail on the heel. It has gold lines across it:

And here is a page from my Russian notebook:

I am still meeting about once a week with my “Russian tutors” =) But it’s slow going. The more I learn, the less I feel like I know. Which makes no sense, but it’s true.

Happy Saturday, I hope you all have a great weekend!!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. October 22, 2012 9:23 am

    Ooh! Your boot and coat are so cute! And yes, that bag is way overkill. lol. Btw, make sure you watch tonight’s game. 😉

    • October 22, 2012 9:31 am

      Ahaha well “lucky” for us I have a church meeting thing to go to…sooooo won’t get to see the game OR the debate. =/ But I DID watch a few innings of last night’s game and we still won. ;P And I should get to catch the last few mins of tonight’s game…..
      I do think it’s hilarious that I walk into the room as the Giants are winning 5-0 and the Cards immediately score as soon as I sit down. I almost got kicked out of the room. haha. =) But all those chicken enchiladas we all ate overcame my bad luck and we pulled it out. ;P

      • October 22, 2012 9:32 am

        Well, the commentator was blaming himself for just seconds before saying that Vogelsong was just about to hit a career record with a no hit game and 9 strike outs…then BOOM! Run scored. lol

  2. October 22, 2012 9:49 am

    Haha yeah…well he did at least set a new career record with those 9 strikeouts but…another shut out would have been nice too (and of course a no hitter would be even better but…)

Leave a Reply

