Skip to content

I’m not brave

October 17, 2012
tags:

This post isn’t referring to the movie Brave, although I get called “Brave” a lot in reference to that, as well. =)

Rebekah sent this to me =)

People often tell me “oh you are so brave” in reference to things like skydiving or traveling or moving to Russia.

But in truth, I am not brave at all.

I went skydiving to conquer my fear of it, not because I was “so brave” – and that taught me a very valuable lesson. One I hadn’t been expecting at all. And that was that sometimes the things we fear the most can actually be the most rewarding and exhilarating!

I wish I was brave. But honestly, I don’t think I am at all.

I am not moving to Russia because I am brave. I am going in spite of the fact that I am not brave!

I am going because my God says “Are not two sparrows sold for a farthing? and one of them shall not fall on the ground without your Father. But the very hairs of your head are all numbered. Fear ye not therefore, ye are of more value than many sparrows” (Matt 10:29-31) and a whole multitude of other verses like that. God promises to take care of us, no matter where we are.

My God created this entire amazingly beautiful world. So no matter what happens in life, I know that He can take care of anything I face, no matter where I am.

Isaiah 43: 2 says “When thou passest through the waters, I will be with thee; and through the rivers, they shall not overflow thee; when though walkest through the fire, thou shalt not be burned; neither shall the flame kindle upon thee.”

The Bible is full of beautiful promises like this.

We can have complete assurance that our God will take care of us, no matter what. He delights in providing for us. I love Matthew 7:11 which says, “If ye then, being evil, know how to give good gifts unto your children, how much more shall your father which is in heaven give good things to them that ask him?”

In the book Radical: Taking Back Your Faith From the American Dream (which on a total rabbit trail here, I have to say here, from reading through this book about 4 times now, I always assumed the author was much older due to his wisdom and stories, and now that I look at the Amazon page I am shocked to find out he is much younger than I had assumed!), David Platt talks about George Mueller and his primary purpose for establishing his orphanage. It wasn’t to take care of children. Mueller says,  “The first and primary object of the work was (and still is) that God might be magnified by the fact that the orphans under my care are provided with all they need, only by prayer and faith without anyone being asked by me or my fellow-laborers, whereby it may be seen, that God is faithful still, and hears prayers.”

What an incredible act of faith-  to establish an orphanage and use it to show to the world that God could provide all their  needs, without asking anyone for help. This makes me think of all the facebook statuses I see where people are posting their needs or wants and saying things like “ye have not because ye ask not” (which I think is a bit misused). Don’t get me wrong, I think there is a time and place for asking for help, but I think all too often we are quick to panic and think God needs our help in publishing our  needs, without trusting Him alone to provide. How big is our God? Is He big enough to provide for our needs, even when no one knows them? He was big enough in Mueller’s day, and what amazing stories Mueller had to share. What amazing opportunities he had to show to the world that his God was big enough to take care of every need. Our primary purpose on this earth is to bring glory to God, and what better way than to give Him opportunities to provide and do seemingly impossible things?

For me, going to Russia is not at all about me being brave or having things figured out, because I am not and I don’t. But if I always make sure that I have enough money to pay my bills and provide for myself and my future, then I am really saying I don’t need God all that much. I think I can do it on my own. And nothing could be further from the truth.

I love Mueller’s testimony and his great example of trusting God. I want to be at a place where I trust God completely, in everything, no matter what. Because He has never let me down, and He never will. I am the one who lets Him down by worrying and not trusting Him. Which is really, really dumb. And I don’t want to be dumb. 😉

My God is amazing, and He can do ANYTHING, and I want to live like it!

Every. single. day.

That is my goal.

I know I will let Him down. But thankfully, I know He will never let me down.

I definitely get the better end of the deal!

One Comment leave one →
  1. October 17, 2012 8:53 pm

    Great post. Exciting to see you step out in faith. The best part is that God is with us.

Leave a Reply

