Skip to content

Today…

October 11, 2012

Today….wow…a lot happened.

The craziest of it being the Giants defeating the Reds to advance to the NLCS. Unbelievable. No team in history has been down 0-2 and come back to win the next 3 on the road to advance. And no NL team has done it period, home or away. So for the Giants to come back from an 0-2 deficit and win the next 3 on the road is remarkable. I’ll be honest, after we lost the first two at home, I figured it was over. I wasn’t going to get my hopes up. So today completely surprised me (ok the last three games surprised me). And those last few innings stressed me out. I am pretty sure my hair started turning grey during those last 45 minutes. The Giants sure like to make post season play interesting.

Then of course we had the Vice Presidential debate, although I only got to hear a few minutes of it while driving. All I heard was the moderator interrupting Ryan and Biden trying to talk over him. Annoying. We recorded it, and it’s all online anyways, but I am not sure I want to watch it, it might just make me mad. =)

I am LOVING this weather! It was so fun to finally wear boots and a sweater to work!

Tonight at church we had missionaries to the Caucasus region and I had been looking forward all week to talking with them.

Ever since I realized I will most likely still be in Russia for the 2014 Winter Olympics in Sochi, I have wanted to be able to go down and hook up with some organization doing outreach down there. And then I met this girl (who is seriously like my twin – she even has curly red hair- only a better version of me, I am sure) and we have been talking about maybe doing it together and then staying afterwards to try and see Georgia, Azerbaijan and Armenia. Sooooo I was pretty excited when I heard that those missionaries were coming!! Sadly though, they won’t be there yet when the Olympics come to town.  They will still be in London at language school. (I’m jealous!! I’m pretty sure I would be learning Russian much faster if I was doing it in London…;P) They are planning to learn Russian, Georgian, and Farsi!! I told them “Good luck, I am trying to learn Russian and I can’t IMAGINE trying to learn THREE languages at once!”  I am sure they appreciated my encouraging words. ;P Seriously though, they will probably do much better at it than I am – devoting whole days (years) to learning a language has got to really help you learn the language better than just doing it piecemeal. Anyways, it was fun to talk to them. Who knows, maybe we will see them over there somewhere/sometime. =)

Okay, off to continue celebrating the Giants’ amazing feats of today. (I didn’t even mention Posey’s grand slam!!!! What a game…)

One Comment leave one →
  1. October 31, 2012 5:32 am

    this is the first day since i’ve left america that i’ve been able to get on your blog! so i was surprised to see that i was mentioned in your post. haha 🙂 nice catching up with your blog. i need to email you back. :/ time just gets away….

Leave a Reply

