Skip to content

The .63 cent game

October 3, 2012

It had been years since I last went to Dodger Stadium. The past few times I had been had been awful and it just wasn’t worth it to me to ever go back, no matter who the Dodgers were playing.
So when my family started suggesting that we go to one of the final three Dodger home games to see the Giants play, I was less than enthusiastic to say the least. I really didn’t want to go.
But when I realized that tickets were starting at just .63 cents on StubHub*, and when I realized there would be several of us going (more guys = more protection), I decided, somewhat reluctantly, to go.

And I am glad I did. It was such a fun game. The Dodger fans are still awful, but there was a lot of security around, so I did feel better. (Plus there there were 11 of us)
I hadn’t planned to wear any Giants gear though, until I heard that several others in our group were going to be, so I figured if I was going to be marked by sitting with other Giants fans, I might as well wear some too. =) I did notice several other people wearing Giants jerseys and hats, but they definitely were heckled by the less refined looking Dodger fans (which, yes, is most of the crowd).

I have to give it to the Dodger fans though, they never give up. No matter what the Dodgers did (strike out a Giant, get a man on base, anything) they would go nuts as if they had just won the World Series. I am not kidding. It was unreal. I just sat there laughing as they would cheer like they had won a pennant while their player rounded second and headed for third, and then as the Giants throw him out at third, it would suddenly get quiet and everyone would sit back down again.
Then they would start chanting things to say that the Giants stink. I was thinking “umm….I am not sure you should be saying that, the Giants have had the lead the entire night. So I am pretty sure it’s not the Giants who stink. Just sayin’.”
It was pretty obnoxious after a while. I can’t imagine how obnoxious the fans would have been if the Dodgers had ever been in the lead.

So it was a very sweet victory to win the game, and eliminate the Dodgers’ postseason hopes. Tonight really doesn’t matter at all now. Which is probably why tickets have dropped all the way down to .18 cents.

After the game (we watched the Giants record the final out on the tv screens) we quickly made our way down to the parking lot to try and get out as quickly as possible. (If you have ever been to Dodger Stadium, you know it’s not uncommon to spend an hour and a half trying to get out of the parking lot! The last time I drove to Dodger Stadium and spent almost 2 hours in my truck slowly crawling out of Dodger Stadium, I said ‘never again‘. It was ridiculous.
We made it out of the stadium in record time, but halfway home the 210 fwy was completely shut down for roadwork (from 11 pm to 5 am and wouldn’t you know it, it was 11:11 when we came upon the closure – we just missed getting through). Traffic was completely at a standstill as all lanes of traffic were routed off of the freeway and down into the streets of Pasadena. So..it ended up being a very late night by the time we eventually got home. Or should I say, an early morning!

Highlight of the game for me was when the obnoxious Dodger fan in front of us was so excited about something and he turned around to high five anyone. We were the only fans around him to high five, so my mom just high fived him back. As he sat back down, I heard him say to his friend “that’s the first time I have ever high fived a Giants fan.” He looked a bit incredulous. I whispered to my mom, “what he doesn’t know is that you really don’t care about the game.” My mom just wanted to keep the peace though. =) It’s probably good that we bring people like her to the game with us. =)

Postseason play starts this Saturday! Let’s do this, Giants!

*StubHub fees make the total price go up to about $6.00.

Pictures from the night:

My dad and I – we stopped at some lower level seats to watch the first half inning before continuing on to find our seats with the rest of the group – didn’t want to miss the first pitch. =)

Our first batter, Pagan.

Yay, Zito! The Giants have won his last 11 starts! He was awesome!

Our first run, a Posey solo shot.

Pretty moon rising above the clouds

As you can tell, I was a bit preoccupied with the moon for a while.

A few clouds drifted past…

Yay, Lopez! My favorite reliever. He always does a good job for us. I just wish I knew why Bochy doesn’t leave him in longer. (The one I time I saw him stay in to face a righty, he struck him out so…not sure why he usually only gets to face one lefty, but there must be a reason…)

Everyone was standing by this point – so I had to try and sneak shots in between people.
Romo coming into the game to finish it off.

We laughed at the hypocrisy of this:

To preserve the “family atmosphere” you can’t bring your own alcohol, but they will gladly sell it to you when you get inside. Hypocritical much? I think yes.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 3, 2012 1:12 pm

    🙂 So glad to hear that you didn’t get mustard or drinks or other such nastiness thrown at you. I laughed about your mom high-fiving that fan. 🙂 I loved those moon pics with the scoreboard. Awesomeness. Not too bad for 63 cents…or 6 dollars. 🙂

    • October 5, 2012 11:38 am

      Haha, yes, I was glad too!
      Nope, not bad for 6.00 – and parking is back to 10.00 too, so…not bad. =)
      Yeah, I laughed at my mom too.

Leave a Reply

