Skip to content

Shades of black and white

September 27, 2012

If you know me, you probably know that I love black and white. Which is why when I found this purse a year ago in Pisa, Italy, I practically swooned. (Whatever that means)

I seriously fell in love with it, and after much haggling, walked away with it for 20 bucks. They wanted much more. (And yes, of course, it’s fake.) Actually, I walked away with two of them. The other one being a white purse with black accents. But I couldn’t justify keeping two almost identical purses, so I gave that one away.  Side note here: if you ever want some really, really cute purses, go to Italy and Turkey. Seriously, the options are OVERWHELMING and they are all ridiculously cute. I promise you, it’s a small miracle I didn’t come back with a whole suitcase full of purses that I really didn’t need, because I really, really wanted to buy all of them.

See the Italian cypress in the background? =) This was taken on the balcony in my hotel near Florence.

Anyways, back to my love affair with black and white.

I love anything black and white. (Um..except soccer balls.)

But what I really, really like, is black and white photography. I don’t know what it is about it. Maybe it’s the vintage feel that black and white photos evoke. Or maybe it’s just that black and white looks classy to me. I don’t know. But whatever it is, I like it.

A few fave black and whites:

Big Ben, London, UK

Olympic Arch, Olympia, Greece

Rose. Redlands, CA

Coliseum, Rome, Italy

Castel Sant’Angelo and Ponte Milvio Bridge on the Tiber River, Rome, Italy

Gondola in Venice, Italy

Hot air balloon and vineyard in Temecula, CA

Trevi Fountain, Rome, Italy

Close up of a fountain in Verona, Italy

Orthodox church, Santorini, Greece

Sunflower, San Dimas, CA

Leaning Tower of Pisa, Italy

Parthenon, Athens, Greece

Trees at work. Azusa, CA

Eiffel Tower, Paris, France

Backyard chimes, San Dimas, CA

Sun rays at the Coliseum, Rome, Italy

A rose. Nashville, TN

Boat. Victoria, BC

Notre Dame, Paris, France

Grapes in a vineyard in Temecula, CA

Duomo, Florence, Italy

Two roses. =) Nashville, TN

Musee du Louvre, Paris, France

The Treasury, Petra, Jordan

Arch of Titus, Roman Forum, Italy

Lamppost, Venice, Italy

Looking down from Oia over the caldera at Santorini, Greece

Balcony, Venice, Italy

Collage from NYC

The Forum, Rome, Italy

Capitol building, Victoria, BC

Piazza San Marco, Venice, Italy

Paris, France

Calla lily, La Verne, CA

Venice, Italy

Church clock tower, Falmouth, Jamaica

Shequaga Falls, Montour Falls, NY

Coliseum, Rome, Italy

Cross, Falmouth, Jamaica

Beach waterfall, Big Sur, CA

London collage

York Minster, Medieval York, England

 

7 Comments leave one →
  1. September 28, 2012 9:45 am

    I love that purse! I was offered $200 for my purse (even after I told them it was fake), but I didn’t feel right selling them a fake AND it was a gift AND I also love it. lol

    Those pictures are so stunning. I REALLY love the calla lily one and the backyard chimes one. All of them are so fantastic! 🙂

    • October 1, 2012 8:42 am

      =) If I’d have known we could have gotten $200 for it, I would have brought back an extra one. ;P
      I’m not a fan of fake purses (or fake anything), but since I LOVED them so much, I got them in spite of their “Prada” tags haha.

  2. September 28, 2012 9:53 am

    Your photos are gorgeous! Love the purse too.

  3. Traci permalink
    September 28, 2012 10:36 am

    Okay, I find it really funny that Rebekah and I noted the same two pictures. I was going to say how much I loved the picture of the back yard chimes and the simple lily.
    Seriously though, I really enjoy getting to sample your trips around the world through your pictures. You have a good eye!

  4. October 16, 2012 9:00 pm

    These are so beautiful! They put a whimsical smile on my face 🙂

Leave a Reply

