Skip to content

The best life

September 23, 2012

She looked up at me with tears streaming down her face as I knelt beside her.

“I surrendered to be a missionary,” she said, “but it’s so hard…I have all these dreams…” she slowly trailed off as I smiled and nodded.

I knew exactly what she was talking about. And yet, there was so much I wanted to tell her. More than we had time for in our few minutes spent together at the altar.

I wanted to take her back over 28 years with me. Years where sometimes I gave up my dreams, and sometimes I didn’t. Years where I wished I would have “gotten it” earlier. Years where I saw God provide in amazing ways. Years where my faith grew by leaps and bounds and where I really learned that I can trust Him completely. Where I realized He will never let us down. Years that showed me He really is my best friend and He really does have my best interests in mind.

I wanted to take her along to see that anything we ‘give up’ for God isn’t really given up at all, and that He always gives back so much more than we could ever give Him. That He will always provide. That He can make life way more incredibly awesome than we could ever imagine. That the times when we are in the center of His will are the times when we will be the happiest. That He is incredibly good and faithful and merciful even when we don’t deserve it. Which is like all the time.

That His dreams for us are way bigger than our dreams for ourselves. That a life lived for Christ is THE best life one can live.

That those people who cling tightly to their money and possessions are not happy people. That the more you give, the happier you will be.

That no matter where on earth she is, He will always be there for her.

That things and money will fade away and burn up, but those moments lived for eternity will last forever.

That when we all get to heaven, God will not be asking us why we didn’t spend more time acquiring things and living the American Dream, but that He will (maybe) ask us why we didn’t spend more time with Him and on things that really matter.

I want her to “get it” earlier than I did. To not waste years pursuing a meaningless career or job if God wants her elsewhere. (And I dare say that God probably wants a whole lot more people out there spending their lives for Him and not themselves.)

I think most of us (myself included) have lost sight of why we are really here. It’s so easy to do, and yet it’s so wrong.

What would our world look like if we all got a hold of a Christian worldview and really lived it? All of us.

What if we all said (at the very least), “I can give up eating out this week to give a few more dollars to missions” ? So that maybe someone can hear about Christ and the salvation He freely offers. The salvation we often take for granted. When I think about how often I go about my life just living for myself, it’s really, really convicting. Who am I? Why do I matter so much to myself? I don’t want to matter so much to myself. I want to remember each and every moment of my life that this is not my real home. I am headed someplace better. (And I hope it’s soon!)

One of my favorite quotes by C. S. Lewis is, ”

“It would seem that Our Lord finds our desires not too strong, but too weak. We are half-hearted creatures, fooling about with drink and sex and ambition when infinite joy is offered us, like an ignorant child who wants to go on making mud pies in a slum because he cannot imagine what is meant by the offer of a holiday at the sea. We are far too easily pleased.”

Indeed, we are far too easily satisfied. We set our sights so low.

I pray for her, I pray for all of us, that we won’t settle for less than God’s best in our lives. That we will really get a glimpse of eternity and not look back. That we will grab hold of those things that really matter. That we will open our arms wide to the Lord and offer everything that we have. All of who we are. That we will ask Him to mold us into His image and let us be used by Him.

At the end of the day, that’s all that really matters.

We have missions conference at church this week and I can’t wait. I pray that God does amazing things in each of our hearts. That He will burden us deeply for missions and for our world. That all of us will ask Him to let us go. That we would all be willing and eager. Not holding anything back. That our eyes will truly be opened so that we can see things through an eternal perspective.

Please pray that God will do great things thisweek!

-Hebrews 13:12-14 “Wherefore Jesus also, that he might sanctify the people with his own blood, suffered without the gate. Let us go forth therefore unto him without the camp, bearing his reproach. For here we have no continuing city, but we seek one to come.

– Matthew 6:19-21 “Lay not up for yourselves treasures upon earth, where moth and rust doth corrupt, and where thieves break through and steal: But lay up for yourselves treasures in heaves, where neither moth nor rust doth corrupt, and where thieves do not break through not steal: For where your treasure is, there will your heart be also.”

5 Comments leave one →
  1. September 24, 2012 7:09 am

    Love this Jen, thanks for sharing!

  2. September 24, 2012 11:09 am

    thanks for the reminder. sometimes i need to be reminded daily.

  3. September 25, 2012 12:58 am

    Wow that was strange. I just wrote an extremely long comment but after I clicked submit my comment didn’t show up. Grrrr… well I’m not writing all that over again. Anyways, just wanted to say wonderful blog!

Leave a Reply

