Skip to content

This and that

September 18, 2012

Right now I am sitting here drinking a concoction of lemon, ginger, and honey – trying to clear up my swollen throat (thanks for that, allergies!) and remembering how this time last year I was having allergy problems and then when we arrived in Italy, they cleared up and never came back – even after I got back to the states 3 weeks later. So I am sitting here wishing I could go “detox” in Italy for a few days and come back with no allergies, ha.

I’m also watching the Giants play the Rockies on my new laptop. (Item #1 on the “Things to do before Russia” list: get a new laptop.)

The game is sure a lot nicer not watching it on my slow, old laptop (that half the time would refuse to even show the game)!

Watching, “reading”, and translating

Today I also got a children’s board book in Russian – yay, so I’m also working on that at the same time – although the game is a bit distracting so I’m not making a whole lot of progress. I am usually much more productive when baseball season is over. =)

The Giants’ magic number is 8…I think we will wrap up a postseason spot pretty soon.  What an interesting season it’s been.

 

6 Comments leave one →
  1. September 19, 2012 6:02 am

    Hooray for faster computers! 😉

    • September 19, 2012 7:22 am

      Yeah, I like the size and speed…but it’s going to take some getting used to. I think I need David to come help me turn off some key function, cuz it keeps doing weird stuff lol.

  2. September 19, 2012 12:30 pm

    yay for studying Russian… I don’t think I mentioned yet that I took it for 3 semesters in college. 🙂

    • September 19, 2012 12:47 pm

      WOW, no, I didn’t know that. How awesome! (I think I would be learning it much faster if I was in an actual class)
      So now I can be asking YOU for Russian help in addition to the others I keep bugging. =)

      • September 19, 2012 12:55 pm

        ask away… its been a while, but maybe if someone was asking me for help, it would make me study it again. I enjoyed it! and someday I’d like to pick it up again.

      • September 21, 2012 7:54 pm

        Thanks! =) All my questions mostly have to do with how/why/when endings change. If there were like some rules I could memorize, that would help. Ira, my Belarusian friend, is looking into it for me. =)

Leave a Reply

