Skip to content

The Hairdresser’s Inch*

September 12, 2012
tags: ,

Last night I went in for a free haircut (that should have been my first clue, ha) and what I thought would be a short hour and a half appointment. I had plans to meet up with someone at 7, so since I got to the salon a little before 5, I thought I had plenty of time.
And then it took the lady an HOUR to dry cut my hair! We hadn’t even washed and blow dried it yet. Clearly we would not be done by 7.

At 6 I texted to ask her if we could meet up at 7:45 instead. Thinking that surely we would be done by then.

At 7:35 I texted my friend to say that I would be a few minutes late. And at 7:40, my hair was finally finished.

I was handed the mirror.

Gasp.
Why am I always surprised at how much they cut off? I should be used to this by now. Clearly no hairdresser alive knows the real meaning of an inch.

The “inch” she had said she could cut off? It had turned into about 4 inches. No wonder it took her so long to cut my hair. She must have been cutting it inch by inch! (Next time I will specify, “an inch TOTAL, not an inch at a time”)

Sigh.
I guess you get what you pay for.
Granted it was a good haircut, and a nice salon (they offered me wine while I was waiting, ha), but I definitely didn’t walk out of there with all of the hair that I had intended to leave with.

Later, after I got home, I tried to get some pictures of just how short it was.

I am really, really good at self portraits. So contain yourself when you see my mad photography skills.ย  ๐Ÿ˜‰ (And also, please excuse the fact that the bathroom lighting makes my hair look like Ariel the mermaid’s hair, I promise I didn’t dye it)

Um…this doesn’t really show how short it is. Trying again…

Nope, I still can’t get my arms far enough back to show the length

Trying a side view. That’s a tiny bit better.

Trying to get more hair in the picture – but you still can’t see how short it is. =/

At this point I gave up, I just wasn’t going to be able to get a good picture of the back of my hair. And then, Tommy came home and saved the day. =)

Flash off

Flash on

The way the curls are lying makes it look uneven at the bottom but it’s really not

I guess I should have gotten him to do a side view, because these really don’t make it look that short. But it is. =/

At least hair grows back, eventually.

 

*The baker’s dozen = 13. The hairdresser’s inch = 4 (apparently)

6 Comments leave one →
  1. September 12, 2012 9:01 am

    Well, in spite of the fact that she cut more off than you wanted, it looks great! ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. September 12, 2012 10:14 am

    I agree with Becka!

  3. Karen G permalink
    September 12, 2012 10:41 am

    Yeah, I was thinking your hair must’ve been super long before! ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. September 12, 2012 11:52 am

    Thanks, Becka and Ashlee…
    Karen, yeah, it was a lot longer. =/

  5. Brandy permalink
    September 15, 2012 8:54 pm

    Soo cute Jenny I love it !!! They cut way more off me trust me i love your long layers

    • September 16, 2012 8:44 am

      Haha, thanks. I was just thinking the other day “now Brandy’s hair will be longer than mine.” ;P

Leave a Reply

